Trinidad & Tobago are WICB Limited Overs Champions

PROVIDENCE, Guyana – Trinidad & Tobago easily defeated their arch rivals Barbados by seven wickets to be crowned champions in the WICB Limites Overs Competition at the Guyana National Stadium. 

With the win, Trinidad & Tobago now join Guyana in winning the prestigious title on nine occasions since its inception in 1976.

Barbados who earlier won the toss and decided to bat in the natural dayligth, were dismissed for 142 off 45.5 overs.  Trinidad & Tobago's replied with 143 for three off 27 overs.

In front of a large crowd Trinidad & Tobago were clinical both in their fielding as well as their batting.  They outplayed the Barbadians, and are truly deserving of the title.

Captain Daren Ganga led from the front, he stroked five boundaries in his innings, and ensured Trinidad & Tobago did not fail, after they were beaten by Jamaica in the Final last year at the  Three Ws Oval in Barbados.

Along with Lendl Siimmons they shared a steady, unbroken 60-run, fourth-wicket stand, after a tentative start to their innings.

Williams Perkins who was playing in his first match of the competition, was caught behind off Pedro Collins for one in the fourth over.

Fellow opener Adrian Barath, mixed solid defence with occasional aggression.  Along with his skipper, they put their team on the road with a 34-run, second-wicket stand.

Barath made 31 before he gave a return catch to medium pacer Dwyane Smith.

Darren Bravo was again impressive and he demonstrated fluency with several drives before he was unnecessarily run out for 20 in a terrible mix-up with Ganga.

But Simmons joined Ganga and they sealed the issue for Trinidad & Tobago.

Earlier, when the Barbadians batted, spin proved to be their undoing.  Samuel Badree and Sherwin Ganga shared five wickets to send the Barbados innings into tailspin.

Badree was mean and grabbed three wickets for 14 runs from his allotment of 10 overs.  He was the pick of the Trinidad & Tobago bowlers and earned the Man-of-the-Match award.

Sherwin Ganga offereed good support with two for 18 from 7.5 overs, but it was Rayad Emrit who started the slide, after Barbados chose to bat on another hard, docile Guyana National Stadium pitch.

He took three for 36 from eight overs, after he snared the first two scalps before the two spin bowlers went to work on the Barbadian middle order.

Jonathan Carter hit the top score of 36 and Dwayne Smith made 29 to add some respectability to the Barbados total.

Emrit had opener Dale Richards caught behind for eight in the second over, and Ryan Hinds caught at square leg for a duck in the fourth over to leave the Barbadians 10 for two.

Kevin Stoute joined his captain Jason Haynes and they got Barbados moving with a stand of 31 for the third wicket.

Stoute got into stride with a couple of sweetly-timed off-side strokes for boundaries off Ravi Rampaul, but he was fortunate that stand-in ‘keeper William perkins dropped him on 13 off the same bowler in the 10th over.

Badree ended the stand, when he had Stoute lbw for 14 in the 14th over, bringing Dwayne Smith to the crease.

A metamorphosis has come over Smith’s batting throughout the competition. He has not lost any of his power, but he has become more selective with the balls that he chooses to murder.

He and Haynes worked diligently at steadying the ship in the middle overs, but Badree and Ganga soon tied them down with their clever variations, and the pressure took toll.

Smith was caught at backward square leg for 29 off Badree in the 22nd over, and opener Haynes’ misery came to an end, when he was caught at cover for 18 in the 23rd over.

Carter featured in the second half of the Barbados innings, but he too, was guilty of gifting his wicket, when he caught at cover off the leading edge looking to swing Badree through square leg in the 44th over, as the Barbados lost their last four wickets for four runs.