West Indies ready to face Australia in Group A clash

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa -- West Indies captain Floyd Reifer says his team will approach Saturday’s match against Australia with confidence when the two teams meet in their Group A ICC Champions Trophy contest at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

First ball is 9.30 am (3.30 am Eastern Caribbean Time/2.30 am Jamaica Time). The match is the first outing in this two-week tournament for the Aussies while the Windies will be playing their second match following their five-wicket defeat against Pakistan in the opening match on Wednesday.

Speaking after Friday’s three-hour training session at the University of Witswaterand, Reifer noted that this is a “big game” but his players will not be overawed. He said the players have been working hard on and off the field and will be looking to reap the rewards.

“We feel good going into this game. There are no small games in this tournament. Every game has an impact on what happens in the group … every game is vitally important and this is a very big game for us. This is probably the biggest game in the career for some of our players so we are relishing the opportunity to play against one of the best teams in the world on one of the biggest stages in international cricket,” the 37-year-old Reifer said.

“As a team we have been be planning well and we will be looking to put those plans into action. We want to win games but also to improve as players and as a team. We need to keep striving to improve our allround game. Everyday there is a chance to get better and we will be looking to go out on the field and play with confidence.”

The West Indies have been boosted by the news that fast bowler Kemar Roach has recovered from an ankle injury and will be available for the match. The 21-year-old suffered the injury a week ago and missed the opening match against Pakistan on Wednesday but is now fully able to take his place in the team.

West Indies: Floyd Reifer (Captain), Darren Sammy (Vice Captain), David Bernard, Tino Best, Royston Crandon, Travis Dowlin, Andre Fletcher, Kevin McClean, Nikita Miller, Kieran Powell, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Devon Smith, Gavin Tonge, Chadwick Walton.

Australia: Rickey Pontine (Captain), Michael Clarke (Vice Captain), Doug Bollinger, Callam Ferguson, Nathan Nauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Tim Paine, Peter Siddle, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Umpires: Tony Hill (New Zealand), Asad Rauf (Pakistan)
3rd umpire: Billy Bowden (New Zealand), 4th umpire: Aleem Dar (Pakistan)
Match referee: Jeff Crowe