Sammy to lead Windwards in WICB President?s Cup

CASTRIES, St. Lucia -- Darren Sammy, the talented allrounder and West Indies Vice Captain, has been named as Captain of the Windward Islands for the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board’s President’s Cup One-Day Tournament in Guyana. He takes over from Rawl Lewis, the veteran leg-spinning allrounder who has represented the Windwards for close to two decades.

Chairman of the selection committee Julian Charles made the announcement on Thursday and also thanked Lewis for his excellent service during his time at the helm. The Windwards announced their 14-man squad for the region’s premier limited-overs event, which runs from October 28 to November 5.

The squad includes one newcomer in Dominican opener Tyrone Theophile. The Windwards will play in Zone A alongside Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, and Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC). Zone B will have Guyana, Barbados, Leeward Islands, and West Indies Under-19s, who are preparing for the International Cricket Council’s Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand in January, 2010.

Squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Miles Bascombe, Deighton Butler, Craig Emmanuel, Andre Fletcher, Donwell Hector, Rawl Lewis, Garey Mathurin, Mervin Matthew, Nelon Pascal, Liam Sebastien, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Tyrone Theophile.