Desmond Haynes is Barbados manager for Caribbean T20

Former West Indies captain and batting great Desmond Haynes has been appointed the new team manager of Barbados for the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board’s Caribbean T20 Tournament, which will be played in Barbados and Trinidad from July 22 to 31.

The 54-year-old, who made 7487 runs in 116 Tests and 8648 in 238 One-Day Internationals, will take over from Jeff Broomes, who was manager for the West Indies Cricket Board’s Four-day Tournament, which was played earlier this year.

Haynes has served in the position of first vice president of the Barbados Cricket Association, and was also chairman of the national selection panel, since he retired.

“Mr Haynes has expressed delight at his appointment and is pleased that he has been given the opportunity to play a role in the development of Barbados’ cricket,” the BCA said in a media release on Thursday.

The BCA also announced that left-handed allrounder Ran Hinds will continue as captain, with Emmerson Trotman, the former Barbados batsman and Holland coach, staying as Head Coach. Vasbet Drakes, the former West Indies allrounder was appointed assistant coach, with Jacqui King as physiotherapist. The Barbados squad is playing four trial matches over the next few weeks as part of their preparation for the Caribbean T20.

Eight teams will be involved in the Caribbean T20. The West Indies territorial teams: Barbados, Combined Campuses and Colleges, Guyana, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, and Windward Islands will be joined by Canada. There is a huge incentive to win the Caribbean T20, with the leading Caribbean team going on to represent the West Indies at the Airtel Champions League in South Africa in September.

The format for the Caribbean T20 Tournament will be two groups of four teams. There will be a round-robin stage in each group – each team will play three matches – with the top two teams in each group qualifying for the semi-finals. The winners of the semi-finals will advance to final while the losing semi-finalists will play a third-place play-off. The matches in Barbados will be played on July 22 to 25 and the matches in Trinidad will be played on July 28 to 31, with August 1 as the reserve day for the finals.