Sarwan at the helm of Guyana for Caribbean T20 Tournament

Experienced middle-order batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan has been named as captain of the Guyana for the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board Caribbean T20 tournament, to be played in Barbados and Trinidad from July 22 to 31.

The right-hander, who recently turned 30, is a former West Indies Test captain and has a wealth of T20 experience having played 18 T20 Internationals for the West Indies.
The team in strong in the batting department and includes several other players with international experience. These are: left-handers Narsingh Deonarine and Sewnarine Chattergoon; right-hander Travis Dowlin; and right-handed off-spinning allrounder Royston Crandon.

The squad also includes Assad Fudadin, who was a member of the West Indies A team for the recent tour of England and Ireland, as well as veteran off-spinning allrounder Lennox Cush, who has represented the United States at various International Cricket Council tournaments in recent years.

The Guyanese are in Group B, where they face Windward Islands on July 23 at 4 pm, and Combined Campuses & Colleges on July 25 at 2 pm in the preliminary round at Kensington Oval before the competition switches to Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad, where they take on Barbados on July 29 at 4 pm. The semi-finals will be played at Queen’s Park Oval on July 30 with the final and third-placed play-off on July 31 at the same venue.

There is a huge incentive to win the Caribbean T20, with the leading Caribbean team going on to represent the region at the Airtel Champions League in South Africa in September.
ESPN and the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) have reached an agreement for the broadcast of the Caribbean T20 and over 61 millions fans will see the tournament. In the Caribbean, fans will be able to view all the matches LIVE on the two ESPN Caribbean networks ESPN and ESPN2, while highlights will be available the following day on Caribbean Media Corporation stations.

The ground-breaking agreement also includes unprecedented live multimedia coverage on ESPN digital platforms including, ESPN, Inc.’s U.S. broadband platform, and ESPN360 broadband platforms in Australia and Latin America.  The agreement also includes television coverage on ESPN networks in the UK, the Middle East and Africa, and in Australia and New Zealand.

Squad: Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Narsingh Deonarine, Travis Dowlin, Sewnarine Chattergooon, Lennox Cush, Christopher Barnwell, Davendra Bishoo, Derwin Christian, Esaun Crandon, Royston Crandon, Jonathan Foo, Assad Fudadin, Steven Jacobs, Paul Wintz