Sammy to lead Windwards in WICB 50-Over Tournament

Roseau, Dominica – Allrounder Darren Sammy will captain the Windward Islands in the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board 50-Over Tournament, to be played in Jamaica from October 14 to 24. Sammy, the 26-year-old St Lucian, took over the leadership of the team earlier this year from allrounder Rawl Lewis and has been at the helm since then. He led the side in the WICB Caribbean T20 in July.

Sammy will have a key role with both bat and ball in a side which also includes West Indies players: left-hander Devon Smith, wicket-keeper/batsman Andre Fletcher, off-spinner Nelon Pascal, and off-spinner Shane Shillingford. For this tournament, the Windwards will be without the services of 36-year-old Lewis, who has been a stalwart in the team since making his regional debut in 1992.

“He’s been a constant for the last 19 years. He’s performed with distinction for the Windward Islands and has done yeoman service,” manager Lockhart Sebastian said. “I think it’s a good all-round team. I think it’s the best team the selectors could have selected under the circumstances.”

The Windwards will have two warm-up matches against the Leewards on Sunday and Monday at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium. They will travel to Jamaica on Tuesday. During the WICB 50-Over Tournament they will play in Group A alongside defending champions Trinidad and Tobago, hosts Jamaica and Combined Campuses and Colleges. Their opening match is against the Jamaicans on Thursday, October 14 at Trelawny.

FULL SQUAD: Darren Sammy (captain), Devon Smith, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Liam Sebastien, Donwell Hector, Craig Emmanuel, Gary Mathurin, Kenroy Peter, Nelon Pascal, Mervin Matthew, Keddy Lesporis, Lyndon James, Shane Shillingford; Lockhart Sebastien, (manager) Ian Allen (coach)

WICB 50-Over Tournament 2010 Schedule
Thursday October 14

Combined Campuses & Colleges v Trinidad & Tobago at Chedwin Park
Windward Islands v Jamaica at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Friday October 15
Leeward Islands v Barbados at Sabina Park
Sagicor HPC v Guyana at Chedwin Park
Saturday October 16
Windward Islands v Combined Campuses & Colleges at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Trinidad & Tobago v Jamaica at Sabina Park
Sunday October 17
Guyana v Barbados at Sabina Park
Leeward Islands v Sagicor HPC at Chedwin Park
Monday October 18
Trinidad & Tobago v Windward Islands at Sabina Park
Jamaica v Combined Campuses & Colleges at Chedwin Park
Tuesday October 19
Barbados v Sagicor HPC at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Leeward Islands v Guyana at Sabina Park
Thursday October 21
Semi-final 1: Winner of Group A v Runner Up Group B at Sabina Park
Friday October 22
Semi-final 2: Winner Group B v Runner Up Group A at Trelawny Multi Purpose Stadium
Sunday October 24
FINAL: Winner of Semi-final 1 v Winner of Semi-final 2 at Sabina Park