Wavell Hinds to lead Jamaica at Caribbean T20

Kingston, Jamaica – Experienced left-handed batsman Wavell Hinds has been named to captain the Jamaica team in next year’s West Indies Cricket Board Caribbean T20 Tournament. The 34-year-old Hinds, who has represented the West Indies in all three formats of the game, will lead the side in the absence of Chris Gayle, who was skipper at the WICB One-Day Tournament earlier this year. Tamar Lambert, who was captain at the inaugural Caribbean T20 in July, has been dropped.

Jerome Taylor, the experienced fast bowler, has recovered from injury and is making a return to cricket at the regional level. The one newcomer in the side is 22-year-old left-arm seamer Sheldon Cotterel.

West Indies players Carlton Baugh, Andre Russell and Nikita Miller – who were on the recent tour to Sri Lanka – are among the 14-man squad that will do battle in the January 10-23 tournament at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium in Antigua and Kensington Oval in Barbados.

The Jamaicans open the tournament with the feature match of a doubleheader against reigning champions Guyana.

SQUAD: Wavell Hinds (Captain), Xavier Marshall, Danza Hyatt, Marlon Samuels, Horace Miller, David Bernard, Carlton Baugh, Andre Russell, Jerome Taylor, Nikita Miller, Krishmar Santokie, Odean Brown, Shawn Findlay, Sheldon Cotterell.