World Cup 2011 team of the tournament

Mumbai, India – Champions India and runners-up Sri Lanka took the majority of places as the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 team of the tournament was named. The two sides contributed a total of seven players.

The team was chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side for sub-continental conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

In all, there are four players from beaten finalist Sri Lanka and three from champion India while South Africa, Australia, Pakistan and New Zealand are also represented in the 12-man squad. The captain of the side was named as Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

The panel faced a difficult choice in a number of key positions and the relative merits of several players, who ultimately did not make the final 12, were debated at length. Players who were also considered included Ross Taylor and Jacob Oram of New Zealand, Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann of England, Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien, Kemar Roach and Kieron Pollard of the West Indies, Imran Tahir of South Africa, Upal Tharanga and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka and the Netherlands’ Ryan ten Doeschate.

Team of the Tournament (in batting order):
Sachin Tendulkar (India)
Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, WK and captain)
Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka)
AB de Villiers (South Africa)
Yuvraj Singh (India)
Shane Watson (Australia)
Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)
Dale Steyn (South Africa)
Zaheer Khan (India)
Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)
12th man: Tim Southee (New Zealand