Wins for Jamaica, Guyana in Under-15s

Port-of-Spain – Trinidad, CMC – Guyana sneaked a narrow win over Barbados while Jamaica trounced Leeward Islands to storm to the top of the standings, on the final day of the fourth round of matches in the West Indies Cricket Board's Under-15 Championship.

Playing at Honeymoon Park, Guyana came from behind to beat Barbados by 22 runs while Jamaica thrashed the Leewards by 132 runs at Gilbert Park. In the other game, Trinidad and Tobago were held to a draw by Windward Islands, despite a sensational unbeaten century from Jeremy Solozano.

Guyana, resuming on the last day on 47 for four in their second innings, ended on 89 all out with Joshua Drakes taking four for 10. Set a mere 82 to win, Barbados were then bowled out for 59 on a difficult pitch, with Sharaz Ramcharan (4-14) and Steven Sankar (4-18) making life difficult.

Jamaica, meanwhile, with a first innings lead of 89, resumed their second innings at 98 for six, but were quickly dismissed for 117. Jeremiah Louis grabbed four for 13. As they did in the first innings, however, the Leewards struggled to put together decent partnerships and fell for 74 runs in pursuit of 207 for victory. Hakeem Wright, who won the Player-of-the-Match award, was the chief destroyer with figures of six for 15.

At the National Cricket Centre, Solozano stroked an unbeaten 135 to put Trinidad and Tobago in a commanding position to win the encounter but they were frustrated by stubborn Windwards resistance. Solozano’s effort enabled Trinidad and Tobago to finish their second innings at 184 for four off 64 overs, setting the Windwards a huge 327 for victory. Roland Cato then stroked 65 and Gidron Pope, 49, to help the Windwards to 221 for five.

Summarised scores
At the National Cricket Centre: Match drawn.
Trinidad and Tobago 172-8 (Keron Kanhai 55, Brian Christmas 35, Jeremy Solozano 32, Deron Hypolite 5-64, Valange St Ange 2-55) and 285-4 (Jeremy Solozano 135 not out, Keron Kanhai 54, Jerron Maniram 31, Nicholas Pooran 37) Windwards 129-6 (Gibron Pope 59, Roland Cato 27; Justin Joseph 4-26) and 221-5 (Roland Cato 65, Gidron Pope 49, Melville Gordon 44; Jesse Bootan 2-56)

At Honeymoon Park: Guyana won by 22 runs.
Guyana 114-9 (Taignarine Chanderpaul 35, Kemo Paul 24; Akil Greenidge 3-18, Tarik Shorey 2-27, Neil Persaud 2-32) and 89 (Joshua Drakes 4-10, Romar Millar 2-10,Neil Persaud 2-17) Barbados 122-8 (Jaffari Toppin 38, Matthew Jones 26; Nial Smith 4-25, Sharaz Ramcharan 4-25) and 59 (Sharaz Ramcharan 4-14, Steven Sankar 4-18)

At Gilbert Park: Jamaica won by 132 runs.
Jamaica 152-8 (Mark Parchment 63, Odain McCatty 31; Shavon Moore 3-27, Daniel Dorum 3-38) and 117 (Romaine Morris 28, Abhijai Mansingh 26; Jeremiah Louis 4-13, Daniel Dorum 3-19) Leewards 63 (Hakeem Wright 2-7, Christopher Tufton 2-13, Ramaal Lewis 2-15) and 74 (Hakeem Wright 6-15, Abhijai Mansingh 2-18).