Young Warriors crowned NBS second division champs

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - The Young Warriors Cricket Club (YWCC) of Cumberland, East Canje, emerged champions of the 2013 New Building Society (NBS) Second Division 40-over cricket competition for teams in Berbice after comfortably defeating Number 71 in the final.

The game was played last Sunday at the Cumberland ground. This is the second time the YWCC have won the competition.

Winning the toss and deciding to take first strike, Young Warriors got a start of 31 from Mortimer Fraser and former Berbice Under-19 all-rounder Kevin Ramdeen, after which the latter was clean bowled by Khemraj Sugrim for 10.

Former Berbice Under-19 player, Ishwar Singh joined Fraser and together they put together a partnership of 43 for the second wicket before Fraser was caught off Khemraj Roopraj for 42. Another Guyana Under-15 cricketer, Sanjay Khan, joined Singh and put on 46 for the third wicket before Khan was caught off Soomdat Singh for 24.

Members of the victorious Young Warriors cricket team enjoy the moment of success in the presence of staff members of the New Building Society Limited

From 120-3 in the 23rd over, Singh continued and together with the veteran Rudolph Baker, 114 more runs were added in the next 14 overs to take the score to 234-3 before both batsmen fell in quick succession. Baker made 68, which included seven fours and five massive sixes, and Singh topscored with 84, which included three fours and one six.

Their dismissals left YWCC at 250-5 from 38.4 overs.

Former Berbice senior all-rounder and captain Anil Behary and Kassim Khan hammered 27 runs off the last eight balls to see YWCC ending in a healthy position at 277-5 in their 40 overs.

Beharry ended on an unbeaten 28 with three huge sixes and Khan nine not out. Khemraj Sugrim took 2-72 off eight overs, bowling for Number 71.

Tough chase

Number 71, needing to score almost seven runs per over, began their response with an opening stand of 43 between Fiaz Mohamed (21) and Soomdat Singh (12) in eight overs.

Vicky Bharosay, manager of NBS Corriverton branch, hands over the winner’s cheque and trophy to Kevin Ramdeen of Young Warriors Cricket ClubVicky Bharosay, manager of NBS Corriverton branch, hands over the winner’s cheque and trophy to Kevin Ramdeen of Young Warriors Cricket Club

Both fell to Berbice Under-17-left arm medium-pacer Kassim Khan to leave them at 48-2 in the 10th over. There was a recovery however, with Andrew Seamber and Nazim Mohamed putting on 69 for the third wicket in 13 overs.

Seamber fell to off-spinner Ramdeen for 40. Khemraj Sugrim then joined Mohamed and together they put on 40 runs for the fifth wicket before Mohamed fell for 35 at 157-4.

Skipper Manouram Vincent came to the crease and gave his team some hope but got no support from the lower order.

The innings closed at 234-9 with Vincent remaining unbeaten on 55 (2x4s, 3xs), meaning that Number 71 lost by 43 runs.

Bowling for YWCC, Sanjay Khan took 3-41 from eight overs and got support from Kassim Khan and veteran Hubern Evans with 2-41 each off their allotted eight overs.

At the presentation that followed, Berbice Cricket Board’s Vice-president, Hubern Evans, showered praise on the sponsor and said that this competition is of utmost importance for not only the development of cricket in Berbice, but also for the lives of people.

Anil Beharry, Senior Manager of NBS Berbice branches, said that his company is pleased with the way the competition was run, taking into consideration that over 100 teams participated. He noted that this is the single largest cricket competition in the Caribbean.

Beharry noted that his company is happy to give back to the communities in which they operate, with four branches in the county of Berbice.

The competition feeds the first division clubs with both junior and senior cricketers. Beharry committed his company’s sponsorship for the 2014 competition.

YWCC took away $60,000 and a beautiful trophy, while Number 71 pocketed $30,000. Ishwar Singh was adjudged Man of the Match and Best Batsman, while Sanjay Khan was named Best Bowler.

Several cash incentives were also given for outstanding performances in the preliminary rounds. A special token was given to Soomdat Singh for being the only batsman to score over 500 runs in the competition. The 2014 competition will be launched soon and the tournament is expected to commence in two weeks.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Fri, 03/14/2014 - 01:55