Windwards bat in 1st semi-final

Bridgetown, Barbados – The time for slip-ups are all but over and the four surviving teams know that as we move into the semi-final stage of the Caribbean Twenty20 today. In the first semi-final, being contested by Group A winners, the Windward Islands and Group B runners up, Jamaica, the former won the toss and elected to bat.

The story of both groups was quite similar; like Barbados in Group B, the Windward Islands went the entire group stage without being beaten. They will be hoping by the end of their match, they are still undefeated. Jamaica on the other hand suffered one hard blow from hosts Barbados, when they were convincingly beaten by 67 runs.

Both teams will look to put all the mistakes from the past in the back of them, knowing one good performance over the next 40 overs could book them a spot in the final. The second semi-final will take place tonight at 8pm Eastern Caribbean Time (7pm Jamaica, 12pm GMT) when Barbados hosts reigning champions, Trinidad and Tobago.

You can catch both semi-final matches live on ESPN or ESPN 2. For live online text commentary of the first semi-final, click here.

Jamaica Team: David Bernard Jr (C), Danza Hyatt, Marlon Samuels, Carlton Baugh Jr (WK), Andre Russell, Nkrumah Bonner, Nikita Miller, Krishmar Santokie, Shawn Findlay, Odean Brown, Sheldon Cotterell.

Windward Islands Team: Darren Sammy (C), Devon Smith (VC), Johnson Charles, Shane Shillingford, Andre Fletcher, Lindon James (WK), Nelon Pascal, Liam Sebastien, Delorn Johnson, Garey Mathurin, Miles Bascombe.

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite & Joel Wilson

Third umpire: Peter Nero

Fourth umpire: Ricardo Brathwaite

Match referee: Adrian Griffith

Toss: Windward Islands won the toss and chose to bat first.

Sat, 01/21/2012 - 11:27