Windies women lose final T20

BASSETERRE, St Kitts, CMC – West Indies Women went down by six wickets in the final Twenty20 International of their five-match series against India at Warner Park here Monday.

Sent in to bat, West Indies mustered 115 for four with Shemaine Campbelle top scoring with 37 and Stacy-Ann King finishing unbeaten on 34.

In reply, India got home with a ball to spare, thanks to an enterprising, unbroken fifth wicket stand of 57 between Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur.

Raj scored 37 from 31 balls while Kaur stroked a cameo 36 from 22 balls, to rescue their side from a spot of bother at 60 for four.

The result was of academic interest as West Indies had already clinched the series with a win in Thursday’s fourth game.

West Indies were off to the worse possible start, losing their two most valuable batsmen early in the contest.

The prolific Stafanie Taylor, standing in as captain for Merissa Aguilleira, was taken at gully by Raj off new ball bowler Subhalaxmi Sharma for five at 17 for one while Deandra Dottin holed out in the deep off the same bowler for 16.

Tottering at 22 for two, Campbelle and Juliana Nero (5) steadied the innings with a 38-run, third wicket stand.

Campbelle struck two fours and a six off 49 balls while Nero faced 25 balls and hit one four.

When Nero was run out at 60 for three, Campbelle partnered with King who stroked a delightful knock to lift the Windies at the end.

King faced just 23 balls and cracked four fours and a six and helped put on 52 for the fourth wicket.

India were cruising at 31 without loss but lost three wickets for three runs in quick time to find themselves in trouble at 33 for three.

However, Raj and Anjum Chopra (8) added 23 for the fourth wicket before Kaur joined the fray, to see off the Windies threat.

Taylor was named Player-of-the-Series.



*S Taylor c Raj b S Sharma 5

D Dottin c Kaur b S Sharma 16

S Campbell c A Sharma b Bist 37

J Nero run out 15

S King not out 34

+K Knight not out 1

Extras (lb1, w4, lb2) 7

TOTAL (4 wkts, 20 overs) 115

Fall of wickets: 1-17, 2-22, 3-60, 4-112.

Did not bat: A Mohammed S Daley, P Etienne, S Quintyne, S Monroe.

Bowling: A Sharma 4-0-26-0, S Sharma 4-0-24-2, Bist 4-0-19-1, Das 4-0-14-0, Sultana 3-0-21-0, Kaur 1-0-9-0.


A Sharma b Mohammed 24

S Naik st Knight b Taylor 7

M Mehta c wkp Knight b Daley 0

M Raj not out 37

*A Chopra b Quintyne 8

+H Kaur not out 36

Extras (lb1, w4) 5

TOTAL (4 wkts, 19.5 overs) 117

Fall of wickets: 1-31, 2-31, 3-33, 4-60.

Did not bat: J Goswami, V Krishnamurthy, S Sharma, D David, S Anand.

Bowling: Munroe 3-1-17-0, Etienne 2-0-10-0, Daley 4-0-15-1, Taylor 4-0-22-1, Mohammed 3.5-0-26-1, King 1-0-11-0, Campbelle 1-0-8-0, Quintyne 1-0-7-1.

Result: India won by six wickets.

Player-of-the-Match: Mithali Raj.

Player-of-the-Series: Stafanie Taylor.

Toss: India.

Umpires: Luther Kelly, Vivian Johnson.


Mon, 02/27/2012 - 18:08