Windies Mens Team

Gibson confident WI can match England

Chennai, India – A confident West Indies will go in search of their fourth win on the trot and a place in the quarter-finals of the World Cup when they battle old rivals England here Thursday. The Caribbean side have found themselves in a winning grove ever since losing their opening game of the campaign to South Africa three weeks ago, scoring handsome victories over the Netherlands, Bangladesh and Ireland.
News Images: 

Pollard: I have confidence

Chennai, India – West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard believes the team has the capability of beating England on Thursday and advancing to the quarter-finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

Speaking to a packed media gallery, the 23-year-old said he was confident as the two sides prepare for the Group B encounter at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chepauk.

News Images: 

Duminy hits 99 as Proteas advance

Kolkata, India – JP Duminy made a superb 99 to help South Africa to a massive win over Ireland and book a place in the quart-finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

The left-hander beat his previous World Cup best of 42 as he led his side to 273 off their 50 over on Tuesday at the historic Eden Gardens.

Duminy missed a deserved hundred while unselfishly trying to hit a big six runs for his team. In the last over of the South African innings, the 26-year-old, on 99, skied the ball as Kevin O’Brien ran back to complete a stunning.

Gayle returns to the training ground

Chennai, India – West Indies star batsman Chris Gayle took to the field today as the West Indies had a full training session ahead of Thursday’s match against England.

The 31-year-old Gayle missed last Friday’s win against Ireland in Mohali due to an abdominal strain. He has been undergoing treatment since then and is expected to be fit for the clash against England at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chepauk.

News Images: 

Lions get lead in rain-hit contest

Providence, Guyana – Johnny Bairstow made the most of a small window of opportunity to usher England Lions to first innings points over Guyana in the WICB First-Class match on Monday.

Bairstow, the son of the late England wicket-keeper David Bairstow, was not out on 32, and raced the Lions to 87-3, replying to Guyana’s paltry first innings of 78, in the 13 balls deliveries in 15 minutes of play that were possible on the final day of their fifth round match at the Guyana National Stadium


Subscribe to Windies Mens Team