Windies girls dominate Pakistan

Dhaka, Bangladesh -- West Indies Women easily beat Pakistan Women in their second match of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2013 qualifiers on Thursday.

Playing at BKSP 3, with Sana Mir winning the toss and electing to bat against Merissa Aguilleira’s side, the Pakistani batting attack struggled against a fine performance of spin bowling of Anisa Mohammed who walked away with five wickets for 26 runs off 10 overs to claim the Player-of-the-Match award.

Pakistan’s opener, Sana, along with Nain Abidi, proved to be the only batters of note in the side, with the former scoring 49 while the latter managed 53 against one of the most favoured teams in the tournament.

It was then up to the inform all-rounder Stafanie Taylor to open the batting in reply for the West Indians, and despite her losing her opening partner, Juliana Nero, for five, and then Shanel Daley shortly after, the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year 2011 stuck out the innings alongside Barbadian Deandra Dottin.

Dottin is perhaps best known for her quick fire century at the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2010 in St Kitts, but this time round the 20-year-old struck a patient innings of 60 in 97 balls to help the West Indies to another win in the event.

Tomorrow will see West Indies taking on newcomers Japan at Khanshaheb Osman Ali Stadium; Zimbabwe take on United States of America at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Netherlands play South Africa in the only ODI of the day at BKSP 2 and hosts Bangladesh face Ireland at BKSP 3.

In other results on Thursday:
At Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium:
Ireland 311-0, 50 overs (Richardson 57, C Joyce 64, Whelan 49) Japan 56 all out 23.2 overs (Richardson 5-4)
Ireland won by 255 runs
Player of the Match: Eimear Richardson (Ireland)

At Khanshaheb Osman Ali Stadium: Netherlands 329-5, 50 overs (Veringmeier 99, Tomlinson 80, Lanser 51, Rambaldo 41) United States of America 104 all out, 49.5 overs (De Lange 3-8, Lanser 3-11, Tomlinson 3-21) Netherlands won by 225 runs
Player of the Match: Miranda Veringmeier (Netherlands)

At BKSP 3: Zimbabwe 62 all out, 41.4 overs (Nyathi 18; Seneviratna 5-15, Ravikumar 3-17) Sri Lanka 63-3, 10.5 (Mendis 35 not out; Saili 3-19) Sri Lanka won by seven wickets
Player of the Match: Chamani Seneviratna (Sri Lanka)

Thu, 11/17/2011 - 04:07