WICB offers 26 contracts


St John’s, Antigua –The West Indies Cricket Board has offered contracts to 26 players for the year October 2011 – September 2012.

All players have signed their contracts.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul is returned as the only player with a Grade A contract as was the case in the previous contract year (October 2010 – September 2011).

Fidel Edwards, Ravi Rampaul and Marlon Samuels have received Grade B contracts for the first time. The other player with a Grade B contract is West Indies captain Darren Sammy who was at the same grade previously.

Players who are on Grade C central retainer contracts for the first time are Devendra Bishoo and Kirk Edwards. Both Bishoo on Edwards were on Development Contracts the previous year.

Following up on a commitment to expand the number of women players on contract, the WICB has added two women’s players to the contract list. They are the Guyanese duo of Tremayne Smartt and Shemaine Campbell, both West Indies players.

Anisa Mohammed has been elevated to an A Grade women’s contract.

The full list of contracted players for 2011-2012 is:

Grade A: Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Grade B: Fidel Edwards, Ravi Rampaul, Darren Sammy and Marlon Samuels

Grade C: Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh, Devendra Bishoo Darren Bravo, Kirk Edwards, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell and Shane Shillingford

Development Contracts: Kraigg Brathwaite, Shannon Gabriel, Nelon Pascal, Kieran Powell and Devon Thomas

Women’s Contracts

Grade A: Anisa Mohammed and Stafanie Taylor

Grade B: Merissa Aguilleira, Shemaine Campbell, Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Stacy Ann King and Tremayne Smartt

The players who were offered contracts for the previous year (2010-2011) are:

Grade A: Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Grade B: Sulieman Benn and Darren Sammy

Grade C: Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh, Darren Bravo, Dave Bernard, Nikita Miller, Brendan Nash, Nelon Pascal, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Shane Shillingford and Devon Smith

Development Contracts: Devendra Bishoo, Kirk Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Assad Fudadin, Imran Khan, Kevin Stoute, Gavin Tonge and Chadwick Walton

Women’s Contracts

Grade A: Stafanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin

Grade B: Merissa Aguilleira, Shanel Daley, Stacy Ann King and Anisa Mohammed


Fri, 10/21/2011 - 13:12