Taylor over the moon after WT20 pick

Jamaica Gleaner article.

Kingston, Jamaica - West Indies Women's Stafanie Taylor is elated at her inclusion in the ICC Women's World Twenty20 team of the tournament, and is looking forward to representing the outfit during an exhibition match next month.

The tournament team, which also includes hard-hitting West Indies player Deandra Dottin, is scheduled to play a game against a MCC Women's XI on May 19 at the famous Lord's cricket ground in London, England.

"When I got the email that I was a part of the team of the tournament, I was excited," Taylor said.

"It's an honour and privilege, as I wouldn't rate my performance during the tournament as my best. However, it always feels good to be recognised, and I look forward to doing well in the MCC match."

The ICC Women's World Twenty20 team was selected on the basis of performances in the tournament only, according to the ICC.

The world governing body also said that "statistics were used", but were not the "sole basis" for selections.

The team is made up of two players from Women's Twenty20 champions Australia, and four from runners-up England. Bangladesh, India and New Zealand also gained a selection each.

Chairman of an independent jury, which selected the team, and member of the ICC Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, David Boon, in commenting, said this year's tournament again demonstrated the "incredible depth" of talent across women's cricket.

"Selecting one team of 11 players was a tough task, as we saw standout performances from many players," Boon added.

The independent jury also included Marais Erasmus of the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram, ex-England captain Nasser Hussain, former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, and Utpal Shuvro, one of Bangladesh's senior-most cricket correspondents.

The MCC Women's XI match will be one of two organised by the MCC to commemorate it's bicentennial celebrations.

The other will be a men's showdown between an MCC XI and a Rest of the World team on July 5th at the same venue. The Rest of the World team will be captained by Shane Warne, and include the likes of Kevin Pietersen, Brett Lee and Muttiah Muralitharan.

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Women's team of the tournament: Suzie Bates (New Zealand); Charlotte Edwards (captain, England); Meg Lanning (Australia); Sarah Taylor (England wicketkeeper); Stafanie Taylor (West Indies); Deandra Dottin (West Indies); Ellyse Perry (Australia); Natalie Sciver (England); Salma Khatun (Bangladesh); Poonam Yadav (India); Anya Shrubsole (England). 12th player: Shabnim Ismail (South Africa).

First Published In The Jamaica Gleaner.

Sun, 04/13/2014 - 03:35