Tagenarine stars again in Under-19 win

ICC Media Release.

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates - West Indies entered the quarterfinals of the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2014, beating Canada by 63 runs in a Group C fixture at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium Nursery 1 in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday (February 18).

This was West Indies’s second win of the tournament, and it finished second behind South Africa in Group C. It was led by Tagenarine Chanderpaul, who followed his 84 not out in a 167-run win over Zimbabwe with a 127-ball 93 that laid the platform for an eventual total of 289 for 4 in 50 overs.

Chanderpaul shared in a 62-run opening stand with Shimron Hetmyer (39), and then added 95 with Jeremy Solozano (50) before Solozano was trapped lbw by Nitish Kumar.

Nicolas Pooran then built on the foundation and attacked Canada's bowling, smashing 67 not out off 41 balls, including three fours and four sixes, to take West Indies to a daunting total.

Canada started its chase reasonably, but fell away at the end, losing seven wickets for just 29 runs to be all out for 226 in 49.3 overs. Canada was 56 for 2 in the 14th over when Nikhil Dutta shared in two good stands to revive the innings. Dutta put on 53 with Nitish Kumar and then 88 off 104 balls with Talha Shaikh. But when Shaikh fell, Canada slipped from 197 for 3 to 226 all out.

Jerome Jones, Ray Jordan and Ramaal Lewis took two wickets each for West Indies.

West Indies will now head to Dubai to play in its quaterfinal on February 23 against the team that tops Group B.


Summary Scores:

West Indies Under-19 Innings: 289/4 (50 Overs). Tagenarine Chanderpaul 93, Nicholas Pooran+ 67, Jeremy Solozano 50, Shimron Hetmyer 39; Keenan Tinto 10-0-64-2, Nitish Kumar 8-0-37-1, Nikhil Dutta 10-0-50-0, Farhan Malik 8-0-48-0.

Canada Under-19 Innings: 226 All Out (49.3 Overs). Nikhil Dutta 62, Nitish Kumar 50, Tahla Shaikh 45, Sudeepta Aurka 23; Ramaal Lewis 10-0-44-2, Ray Jordan 9.3-0-44-2, Jerome Jones 10-0-57-2, Gudakesh Moti-Kanhai 10-0-29-1.

West Indies Under-19 won by 63 runs


West Indies Under-19

S Hetmyer run out (Kapoor) 39

T Chanderpaul c Rao b Tinto 93

J Solozano LBW Kumar 50

J Drakes c Aurka b Tinto 16

N Pooran+ not out 67

B King not out 5

Total: 289/4 (50 Overs)

Extras: (lb 3, w 14, nb 2) 19

Did not Bat: R Lewis*, G Moti-Kanhai, P McSween, J Jones, R Jordan.

Fall of Wickets: 1-62 (Hetmyer, 12.5 ov), 2-157 (Solozano, 32.5 ov), 3-181 (Drakes, 38.1 ov), 4-258 (Chanderpaul, 48.2 ov).

Canada Under-19 Bowling: K Tinto 10-0-64-2, S Rajasingam 6-0-39-0, T Shaikh 5-0-30-0, N Kumar 8-0-37-1, N Dutta 10-0-50-0, T Manoosingh 3-0-18-0, F Malik 8-0-48-0.

Canada Under-19 (Target; 290)

S Aurka run out (Solozano) 23

Y Rao+ c Solozano b Jordan 15

NR Kumar* LBW Moti-Kanhai 50

N Dutta run out (Moti-Kanhai) 62

T Shaikh run out (Pooran) 45

K Tinto b Lewis 1

A Kapoor c Pooran b Lewis 0

TRR Manoosingh c Moti-Kanhai b Jones 7

A Joshi LBW Jones 0

F Malik b Jordan 4

S Rajasingam not out 1

Total: 226 All Out (49.3 Overs)

Extras: (b 4, lb 6, w 8) 18

Fall of Wickets: 1-35 (Rao, 7.3 ov), 2-56 (Aurka, 13.2 ov), 3-109 (Kumar, 25.6 ov), 4-197 (Shaikh, 43.2 ov), 5-200 (Tinto, 44.2 ov), 6-200 (Kapoor, 44.3 ov), 7-219 (Manoosingh, 47.5 ov), 8-219 (Joshi, 47.6 ov), 9-221 (Dutta, 48.2 ov), 10-226 (Farhan Malik, 49.3 ov).

West Indies Under-19 Bowling: J Jones 10-0-57-2, R Jordan 9.3-0-44-2, P McSween 10-0-42-0, G Moti-Kanhai 10-0-29-1, R Lewis 10-0-44-2.

Toss: West Indies Under-19 won the toss and elected to bat

Points: West Indies Under-19 - 2, Canada Under-19 - 0

Youth ODI Debuts: A Joshi (Canada Under-19) & S Rajasingam (Canada Under-19)

Man of the Match: Tagenarine Chanderpaul (West Indies Under-19)

Umpires: D Odhiambo (Kenya) & Shozab Raza (Pakistan)

Match Referee: A Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

Reserve Umpire: S Ravi (India)

ICC Media Release.

Tue, 02/18/2014 - 04:47