St Kitts set for Leewards Twenty20

BASSETERRE, St. Kitts – With financial contributions from three Ministers of government and the Ministry of Sports as well as two business entities, the St. Kitts cricket team will be competing in the 2012 Leeward Islands Limited Overs Tournament today (Nov. 4).

Team St. Kitts is expected to compete against Leeward Islands cricket powerhouse Antigua and Barbuda for $10 000 in prize money in the final of the Nagico Leeward Islands Twenty/20 tournament today at 2:00 p.m. in St. Maarten, and also in the Nagico 50-Over tournament that will follow.

The island’s team was expected to depart the Federation this morning to play the Twenty/20 finals this afternoon.

Just a few days ago, it was announced that the St. Kitts Cricket Association (SKCA) was facing financial difficulties and it was unlikely for Team St. Kitts to participate in the Tournament.

Coach/Manager Donald ‘Dongo’ Farrell had indicated that members of the team had been working very hard in preparation for the Tournament and should they be deprived the opportunity of competing, it would hinder the players chances of gaining selection on the Leeward Islands team as well as a stumbling block in the advancement of their career.

He therefore made a plea to the business community, especially those that benefitted from cricket in the past, to support the team in its effort as the players seek to make St. Kitts proud.

Now, with financial assistance from the Hon. Glenn Phillip and the Ministry of Sports, Deputy Prime Minister Sam Condor, Senator Richard Skerritt, G Square Duty Free Shop on Port Zante and Nagico, Team St. Kitts can now participate in the 50-Overs Tournament.

For this generous and timely gesture, the Management Committee of the SKCA has publicly thanked the Ministers of government and the two private sector entities for their much needed contributions.

The following persons will travel to St. Maarten to represent St. Kitts in the finals of the LICA T20 and Nagico ODIs during the period November 4-11 2012.

1.     Jacques Taylor - Captain

2.     Calvin Williams - Vice Captain

3.     Shane Jeffers

4.     Steve Liburd

5.     Elsroy Powell

6.     Tashmial Mills

7.     Dylin Liddie

8.     Leverette Taylot

9.     Elvin Berridge

10.   Sheeno Berridge

11.   Terrance Warde

12.   Norval McCall

13.   Christanja Carey

14.   Akeem Saunders

15.  Don Farrell - Manager

16.  Andrea Gumbs - Scorer

First Published In The SKN Vibes.

Sun, 11/04/2012 - 12:43