Softball Association chooses Goodwin


Antigua Observer article.

ST JOHN’S, Antigua - Javid “Goody” Goodwin has been chosen by the softball fraternity to lead the Antigua & Barbuda Softball Cricket Association (ABSCA) for the next two years.

Goodwin defeated his main rival and now former president, Veronique Benta, by just one vote as he took the vote by six to five.

Denfield “Mandy” Weatherhead and Robin Bascus Jr received two votes each, and there was one spoilt ballot.

Goodwin said he did not anticipate such a close result.

“A new candidate was in the running. I didn’t know if Bascus was serious but he got two votes, which could have gone either way but, nevertheless, I ended up with the victory,” he said.

“My first agenda is to raise the standard of the cricket higher and also as well, I would like to try and meet with my sponsors Caribbean Alliance to see what’s in the pipeline for this year.”

Javid “Goody” Goodwin

The former player added that bringing fresh blood into the sport would be one of his main agenda items. He also took time out to thank all those who have supported his cause.

“The schools programme initiative will be in place and I already spoke to Mr Watley yesterday (Thursday) and he has assured me that the programme will be underway soon. So I am just waiting for the green light from him and his team so that I can know what’s taking place with that because we need new players in the arena,” Goodwin said.

“I must give a special thank you to my campaign manager, Mr Baldwin ‘Spliff’ Anthony for his hard work on the media and without him I don’t know if I would have been victorious. My fans, my supporters and those who didn’t support, it’s all about cricket. So thanks to everybody to include the media houses, Observer Radio and everybody for making this a reality.”

Kennedy Tongue was elected vice president, Richard Dyer as treasurer, Debra Philip as assistant treasurer, Leroy John-Baptiste as secretary and Zack Thomas as assistant secretary.

Weatherhead was elected PRO following his failed presidency bid, while Francis “Swango” Mark, Laurilyn Henry, Vincie Bowen and Marvel Samuel were elected floor members.

First Published In The Antigua Observer.


Sat, 01/25/2014 - 04:29