Simmons leads T&T to Under-15 glory

St Elizatbeth, Jamaica - Trinidad and Tobago were crowned champions of the Regional Under 15 cricket competition which concluded in Jamaica on Friday.

Trinidad secured the title after defeating host Jamaica by seven wickets in their final round match at Manchester High.

Keagan Simmons smashed an unbeaten 96 to lead the chase as the visitors got home safely at 165 for three.

Sachin Seecharan supported with a knock of 37.

The Trinidadians and the Jamaicans were locked in keen battle and raising the hopes for the second placed contenders Windward Islands of title honours in the event of a victory over Leewards. Courtesy CMC

Here are the details:


Keagan Simmons hit a mature, unbeaten 96 to lead Trinidad & Tobago to the Regional Under-15 Championship on Day 2, giving T&T the double. T&T's victory comes mere weeks after the Red Force won the Regional Under 17 title.

The victory though had to be well earned by the boys in red. Jamaica started Day 2 on 85/2, owing 32 runs on deficit. Thanks to Dominik Samuels' patient knock of 74, which included nine boundaries, the Jamaicans were able to bat out much of their second innings.

Rawin Senior also chipped in with 25 as Jamaica ended their second innings on 196/8, setting T&T 165 runs for victory. Emilo Gopaul took five wickets for the Trinis. By the start of T&T's chase, it was clear the Trinis needed nothing short of a win, as the Windwards had momentarily gone above them in the point standings after defeating the Leeward Islands.

T&T got a solid start from openers Keegan Simmons and Aaron Mairam, who put on 41 runs for the first wicket. However, therafter, the Red Force would receive a minor scare, as two quick wickets fell to leave them on 60/3. However, Simmons' mature knock from 168 balls guided the Trinis to a comfortable victory in the end. 

Simmons found a good partner in Sachin Seecharan, who stood with his colleague to the finish, ending on 38 not out. T&T won the Regional Under-15 by seven wickets.

Jamaica 1st Innings (75)

Trinidad & Tobago 1st Innings (107/9)

Jamaica 2nd Innings

Rashjni Roye LBW Gopaul 30

Richard McIntosh LBW Kallicharan 19

Dominik Samules b Gopaul 74

Rawin Senior LBW Kistow 25

Brad Barnes c Simmons b Gopaul 7

Jevor Royal c Sutherland b Gopaul 2

Shalomel Pernell b Gopaul 19

Ian Spence Not Out 4

Aaron Burrell Run Out (Gopaul) 1

Did not bat...

Nkala Tracey

Michel Harriott

Total: 196/8 (60 Overs)

Extras: (8B, 7LB) 15

Trinidad & Tobago 2nd Innings Bowling: Amrit Kistow 9-1-28-1, Joel Sutherland 13-3-39-0, Kirstan Kallicharan 8-1-29-1, Emilo Gopaul 20-3-61-5, Saiba Batoosingh 3-1-6-0, Sachin Seecharan 7-2-18-0

Trinidad & Tobago 2nd Innings (Target; 165)

Keegan Simmonds Not Out 96

Aaron Mairam st Roye b Senior 13

Kirstan Kallicharan c McIntosh b Senior 7

Saiba Batoosingh b Spence 0

Sachin Seecharan Not Out 38

Total: 165/3 (53.3 Overs)

Extras: (2B, 5LB, 3NB, 1WD) 11

Jamaica 2nd Innings Bowling: Michel Harriott 12-3-37-0, Shalomel Pernell 5-1-7-0, Brad Barnes 9-0-26-0, Ian Spence 13-1-34-1, Rawin Senior 9-0-35-2, Dominik Samules 2-0-9-0, Nkala Tracey 1-0-5-0, Jevor Royal 2.3-0-5-0

Result: Trinidad & Tobago won by 7 wickets & the tournament

Toss: Trinidad & Tobago won the toss and elected to field

Umpires: Mohamed Bakash & Guyanand Sukhdeo

Match Referee: Dudley Bryan


AT TREASURE BEACH - Leewards v Windwards

Shane Roberts made light work of the Leeward Islands on the second and final day of the final round of matches as the Windwards eased to victory by an innings.

The Windwards having built up a first innings lead of 91 runs, the Leewards started Day 2 already struggling to overhaul the Windwards' first innings total in their second turn at the crease on 38/5.

Needing another 53 runs to make the Windwards bat again, the Leewards collapsed to 74 all out, falling 17 runs short off their target. Roberts was the main destroyer of the innings, taking 5-27. Alick Athanaze narrowly missed out on a five-for, taking 4-23.

The Windwards wrapped up victory quite early in the morning, gaining their 12 points for the win and overhauling T&T on the points standings. However, they had to wait for the game at Manchester High to be completed to know if they had done enough to win the title.

They needed Jamaica to win, or at least take a draw off T&T for them to win the title. However, the Trinis were too strong for Jamaica, and the Windwards finished second place.

Leeward Islands 1st Innings (80)

Windward Islands 1st Innings (171)

Leeward Islands 2nd Innings

Zawandi White L.B.W. Anthanaze 15

Joshua Grant L.B.W. Roberts 1

Michael Lewis b Roberts 0

Dimitri Adams* b Roberts 2

Javani Tyson b Anthanaze 12

Jerelius Louis c Singh Roberts 3

Jemuel Cabey c Stewart b Roberts 0

N'Cosie George+ c Charles b Anthanaze 10

Tassilo Allen NOT OUT 14

Marcus Duberry bSingh 0

Trevor Hanley b Anthanaze 4

Total: 74 All Out (29 Overs)

Extras: (4B, 2NB, 7WD) 13

Windward Islands 2nd Innings Bowling: Shane Roberts 11-2-27-5, Narun Singh 2-0-6-1, Alick Anthanaze 10-3-23-4, Johnell Eugene 1-0-6-0, Nick Elibox 5-1-8-0

Result: Windward Islands won by an innings and 17 runs

Toss: Leeward Islands won the toss and elected to bat

Umpires: Christopher Wright & Athol Hamilton

Match Referee: Randolph Nelson


AT MANLEY HORNE - Barbados v Guyana

Guyana made light work of Barbados on the second and final day, winning by nine wickets to finish third. The Guyanese bowlers had done much of the hard work on Day 1, reducing Barbados to 83/7 at stumps.

That was a lead of 35 runs with just three wickets remaining. Barbados didn't put up any resistance on the final day, collapsing to 102 all out, leaving Guyana with 55 runs for victory.

The Guyanese openers in Adrian Sukwah and Raymond Perez put on a 51-run opening stand in next to no time to lead Guyana's charge to victory. When Sukwah was out for 21, captain, Bhaskar Yadram, only came in to hit the winning runs. Perez finished unbeaten on 28 as Guyana got to 55/1, winning by 9 wickets.

Barbados 1st Innings (100)

Guyana 1st Innings (148/7)

Barbados 2nd Innings

Daniel Chesham b Luknauth 1

Joshua Corbin b Mohamed 6

Limar Pierce c Persaud b Luknauth 16

Shaquane Cave c Perez b Hathiramani 8

Michael Stuart+ c Perez b Hathiramani 18

Nagee Holder* b Hathiramani 17

Jordan Jones b Luknauth 9

Joshua Bishop L.B.W. Luknauth 0

Reniel Smith Run Out (Perez) 4

Jarion Hoyte b Luknauth 5

Kemar Burrowes NOT OUT 3

Total: 102 All Out (52 Overs)

Extras: (8B, 6LB, 1WD) 15

Guyana 2nd Innings Bowling: Ronaldo Mohamed 6-0-19-1, Richie Luknauth 26-12-29-5, Sagar Hathiramani 20-3-40-3

Guyana 2nd Innings (Target; 55)

Adrian Sukwah+ c Stuart b Bishop 21

Raymond Perez NOT OUT 28

Bhaskar Yadram* NOT OUT 2

Total: 55/1 (13.4 Overs)

Extras: (1B, 3NB) 4

Barbados 2nd Innings Bowling: Nagee Holder 5-0-20-0, Jarion Hoyte 5-1-20-0, Joshua Bishop 2-0-3-1, Kemar Burrowes 1.4-0-11-0

Result: Guyana won by 9 wickets

Toss: Guyana won the toss and elected to field

Umpires: Christopher Taylor & Norman Malcolm

Match Referee: Cecil Fletcher


Final Points Standings (Post Round V)

Team Matches Win Loss Draw BP Points
T&T 5 4 0 1 4.9 56.9
Windwards 5 4 0 1 2.2 54.2
Guyana 5 3 0 2 3.6 43.6
Barbados 5 3 0 2 3 39
Jamaica 5 1 0 4 2.3 18.3
Leewards 5 0 0 5 1.9 1.9
Fri, 07/26/2013 - 15:17