Shillingford takes 5-77 as NZ hold on

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – Off-spinner Shane Shillingford was superb as he captured a five-wicket haul for the West Indies Cricket Board’s President’s XI on the final day of the three-day match against New Zealand on Sunday.

The tall Dominican bowled brilliantly to take five for 77 to put the President’s XI on the brink of victory at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground before the Kiwis held on to a draw as they finished on 181 for eight in their second innings.

Facing a deficit of 177 on first innings after the local team made 326, New Zealand’s batsmen struggled for the second time in the match.

Brendon McCullum top-scored with 51, Kane Williamson hit 25 while wicketkeeper Kruger van Wyk averted defeat with an unbeaten 38, but were the only three batsmen to show enterprise.

Fast bowler Kemar Roach, who again bowled with pace, prised out Daniel Flynn with a snorter for one with just eight on the board before Martin Guptill dragged on left arm seamer Delorn Johnson for seven at 24 for two.

McCullum and captain Ross Taylor (19) added 60 for the third wicket to steer the Kiwis away from danger before Taylor skied Shillingford to Shiv Chanderpaul at mid-wicket.

At 103 for three, however, New Zealand seemed safe but McCullum top-edged left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul to Roach at deep square leg to trigger a slide where five quick wickets fell for 57 runs to leave the match in the balance.

van Wyk, however, batted over two hours to add 23 with Neil Wagner (five not out) for the ninth wicket and secure a draw for the tourists.

Earlier, the President’s XI were dismissed for 326 after resuming at 299 for seven, with Shillingford getting 25 and left-arm spinner Daniel Vettori finishing with six for 48.


NEW ZEALAND 1st Innings
M Guptill lbw b Roach 5
D Flynn b Johnson 14
B McCullum c Chanderpaul b Roach 2
*R Taylor c Chanderpaul b Roach 0
K Williamson c Roach b Fudadin 55
D Brownlie lbw b Permaul 9
D Vettori c Permaul b Roach 9
+K van Wyk lbw b Deonarine 34
T Nethula c Edwards b Permaul 4
N Wagner not out 6
C Martin c and b Permaul 4
Extras (b1, lb3, w1, nb2) 7
TOTAL (all out, 77.4 overs) 149
Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-12, 3-16, 4-28, 5-41, 6-54, 7-134, 8-134, 9-143, 10-149
Bowling: Roach 17-7-34-4 (nb1), Johnson 16-6-27-1 (w1), Fudadin 12-5-23-1, Permaul 22.4-12-34-3, Deonarine 12-2-27-1
(overnight 299 for seven)
A Barath c McCullum b Vettori 10
K Powell c Guptill b Vettori 25
K Edwards st van Wyk b Vettori 3
A Fudadin b Nethula 38
S Chanderpaul c Guptill b Vettori 51
N Deonarine c McCullum b Wagner 106
+D Thomas c wkp van Wyk b Wagner 32
*V Permaul c wkp van Wyk b Wagner 17
S Shillingford c Brownlie b Vettori 25
K Roach lbw b Vettori 1
D Johnson not out 0
Extras (b12, lb2, nb4) 18
TOTAL (all out, 96.2 overs) 326
Fall of wickets: 1-36, 2-45, 3-45, 4-104, 5-233, 6-263, 7-289, 8-320, 9-321, 10-326.
Bowling: Martin 21-6-52-0, Wagner 26-6-65-3, Brownlie 6-1-24-0, Vettori 21.2-6-48-6, Nethula 20-2-101-1 (nb3), Guptill 2-0-22-0.
NEW ZEALAND 2nd Innings
D Flynn c Shillingford b Roach 1
M Guptill b Johnson 7
B McCullum c Roach b Permaul 51
*R Taylor c Chanderpaul b Shillingford 19
K Williamson b Shillingford 25
D Brownlie lbw b Shillingford 5
D Vettori c and b Shillingford 2
+K van Wyk not out 38
T Nethula c Barath b Shillingford 5
N Wagner not out 5
Extras (b12, lb2, w1, nb8) 23
TOTAL (8 wkts, 81 overs) 181
Fall of wickets: 1-8, 2-24, -3-84, 4-101, 5-117, 6-121, 7-135, 8-158.
Bowling: Roach 9-4-17-1 (nb2), Johnson 14-6-31-1 (w1), Shillingford 36-12-77-5 (nb6), Permaul 19-8-39-1, Deonarine 3-0-3-0.
Result: Match drawn.
Toss: WICB President’s XI.
Umpires: Joel Wilson, Nigel Diguid.

Sun, 07/22/2012 - 15:20