Russell explodes as Tallawahs make final


PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad - The Jamaica Tallawahs have fixed an appointment with the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final of the inaugural Caribbean Premier League T20 tournament here on Saturday night at the Queen’s Park Oval.

The Tallawahs on Friday night  eliminated  the Barbados Tridents by seven  wickets, in the second semifinal , as big-hitting all-rounder  Andre Russell and  veteran Sri Lankan left-hander  Kumar Sangakarra steered them home with nine balls to spare.

Replying to the Tridents’ 148 off 20 overs , the Tallawahs romped to 152 for three (off 18.3 overs) with Russell not out 29,  off just 6 balls, and Sangakarra unbeaten on 50 off 36 deliveries.

With the Tallawahs needing 32 from 20 balls when he came to the crease, Russell crushed the ambitions of the Tridents in the 19th over with a thrilling display of shot-making as he plundered  three big sixes off  former Pakistani all-rounder Azhar Mahmood.

 Bowling the last of his four overs, after earlier capturing the prized wicket of Chris Gayle (3runs) cheaply in the fourth over of the innings, Mahmood  produced some fodder deliveries to the Jamaican all-rounder who fired them into the stands and secured the advance of the Tallawahs.

Man-of-the-match Sangakarra, mixing aggression with clinical strokeplay, guided the team in the difficult overs and also shared an important second-wicket partnership of 71 with opener Chadwick  Walton, who benefitted from a dropped chance before he was off the mark and scored 45 off 40 balls.

Walton, who was eventally run out by wicketkeeper Johnathan Carter,  punished the  Tridents for the early left-off  and pulled around the game with the help of Sangakarra for Russell to launch his  amazing blitz in the late overs.

The Tridents , who struggled and recovered to post a competitive total in their innings, generally  kept themselves  in the game up until  the 18th over , when the Tallawahs needed 15 from 12 balls, and up until Russell  exploded.

The  Tridents were sent in to bat and were set-back early, losing the wickets of opener Dwayne Smith and promoted all-rounder Jason Holder with just six runs and three overs into the innings.

Young  left-handed opener  Ramon Reifer  then joined with Shoaib Malik to put on 102 runs for the third wicket, off 14 overs , before both fell is successive balls in the 17th over. Reifer was run out  for a well-played 36 off 43 balls, while Malik, seeking to hit Chris Gayle out of the ground, was caught at deep mid-wicket for 49 off 46 balls.

From 108 for 3 - Mahmood (14), captain Keiron Pollard (13) and Kyle Mayers (12) added 40 runs off the last three overs to set-up what was anticipated to be an interesting tussle for a place in the final.

As it turned out, the Tallawahs made light work of the target and qualified to face the Warriors who defeated them twice in the preliminary rounds.

Summary Scores:

Barbados Tridents 148/6 off 20 overs -- (Ramon Reifer 36, Shoaib Malik 49,Keiron Pollard 13,  Azhar Mahmood 14; Vernon Philander 2/28).

Jamaica Tallawahs 152 for 3 off 18.3  overs (K. Sangakarra 50 not out, A. Russell 29 not out, c. Walton 45; Azhar Mahmood 2/37).

Barbados Tridents

D Smith LBW Bernard 1

R Reifer run out (Russell/Gayle) 36

J Holder c Baugh b Philander 5

Shoaib Malik c Walton b Gayle 49

K Pollard* run out (Russell) 13

Azhar Mahmood c Gayle b Philander 14

K Mayers not out 12

Extras: (lb10, w8) 18

Total: 148/6 (20 Overs)

Did not Bat: J Carter+, A Nurse, R Emrit, Shakib Al Hasan

Fall of Wickets: 1-1 (Smith, 1.1 ov), 2-6 (Holder, 2.1 ov), 3-108 (Reifer, 16.5 ov), 4-108 (Shoaib Malik, 16.6 ov), 5-133 (Pollard, 18.3 ov), 6-148 (Azhar Mahmood, 19.6 ov)

Bowling: V Philander 4-0-28-2 (1w), D Bernard 4-0-21-1 (2w), A Russell 3-0-31-0, M Muralitharan  3-0-26-0 (1w), N Miller 3-0-18-0, C Gayle 3-0-14-1 (2w)

Jamaica Tallawahs

C Walton run out (Carter) 45

C Gayle* c Pollard b Azhar Mahmood 3

K Sangakkara not out 50

D Hyatt c Pollard b Azhar Mahmood 12

A Russell not out 29

Extras: (b4, lb4, w5) 13 

Total: 152/3 (18.3 Overs)

Did not Bat: J Blackwood, C Baugh+, D Bernard, V Philander, N Miller, M Muralitharan

Fall of Wickets: 1-16 (Gayle, 3.3 ov), 2-87 (Walton, 11.3 ov), 3-117 (Hyatt, 16.4 ov)

Bowling: Shoaib Malik 2-0-19-0 (1w), Azhar Mahmood  3.3-0-37-2, J Holder 3-0-22-0 (1w), R Emrit 2-0-19-0, Shakib Al Hasan 1-0-8-0, K Pollard 4-0-22-0 (1w), A Nurse 3-0-17-0 (2w) 

Result: Jamaica Tallawahs won by 7 wickets

Man-of-the-Match: Kumar Sangakarra (Jamaica Tallawahs)

Umpires: Nigel Duguid & Joel Wilson

TV Umpire: Billy Bowden (New Zealand)

Match Referee: Mike Procter


Sat, 08/24/2013 - 09:45