Rain spoils Cotterrell, Permaul work

DHAKA, Bangladesh – A match that promised much for the Sagicor High Performance Centre team after more impressive bowling from Sheldon Cotterrell and Veerasammy Permaul was spoiled when rain forced a no-result in the first game of their Twenty20 series against Bangladesh-A on Thursday.

The Sagicor HPC team did not get a chance to start their chase of a modest target of 126, as the weather, which had delayed the start, further disrupted the match after the A-Team had posted 125 for nine from their 20 overs at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium.

Left-arm fast bowler Cotterrell was the pick of the visitors’ bowlers with 3-14 from his stipulated four overs, left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul supported with 3-29 from four overs, and Dawnley Grant scalped 2-25 from four overs.

The result meant that the two-match series will be decided on Friday, when the two sides contest their second and final match before the Sagicor HPC flies out for home on Saturday.

The emerging West Indies players again put together another purposeful performance in the field with the bowlers supported by sharp fielding, as Naeem Islam, their protagonist in recent matches, again defied convention, hitting the top score of 48 that included four fours and one six from 41 balls. No other batsman reached 20.

Cotterrell again gave the Sagicor HPC a bright start, when he bowled Imrul Kayes for a duck with the second ball of the match.

Grant tightened the Caribbean side’s grip with the scalps of Shamsur Rahman caught behind for 12 and Anamul Haque caught in the deep for 17, sinking Bangladesh-A to 38 for three in the eighth over.

The Sagicor HPC continued to pick off wickets at regular intervals with Permaul taking control of the middle overs, as Naeem tried to hold things together for the hosts before Cotterrell held a return catch to dismiss him off the final delivery of the innings.


BANGLADESH-A (maximum 20 overs)

Imrul Kayes b Cotterrell 0

Anamul Haque c Blackwood b Grant 17

Shamsur Rahman c wkpr Hamilton b Grant 12

*Naeem Islam c and b Cotterrell 48

Ziaur Rahman c Fletcher b Permaul 5

Soumya Sarkar c Brathwaite b Cariah 0

Sabbir Rumman st Hamilton b Permaul 18

Forhad Reza b Permaul 10

Abul Hasan c Brathwaite b Cotterrell 4

Nazmul Apu not out 1

Extras (lb3, w7) 10

TOTAL (9 wkts, 20 overs) 125

Enamul Haque Jr did not bat

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-27, 3-38, 4-66, 5-67, 6-100, 7-110, 8-121, 9-125

Bowling: Cotterrell 4-0-14-3 (w1); Blackwood 1-0-9-0; Grant 4-0-25-2 (w3); Cariah 4-0-21-1; Permaul 4-0-29-3 (w3); Brathwaite 3-0-24-0

SAGICOR HIGH PERFORMANCE CENTRE: A. Fletcher, J. Blackwood, M. Barclay, K. Hope, K. Lesporis, Y. Cariah, *C. Brathwaite, +J. Hamilton, V. Permaul, S. Cotterrell, D. Grant

Result: No-result

Series: Two-match series level 0-0

Toss: Bangladesh-A

Umpires: Enamul Haque, Gazi Sohel

Match referee: Roqibul Hasan

Reserve umpire: Tanvir Ahmed

Thu, 10/04/2012 - 07:50