Pooran ton not enough to save Under-19s


DUBAI, United Arab Emirates – Nicolas Pooran blasted a century for West Indies Under-19 but not enough to avoid a five-wicket defeat from Australia in the quarter-finals of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Under 19 Cricket World Cup here on Sunday.

West Indies Under-19s were bowled out for 208, after being 70 for eight at one stage. Australia reached 209 for five and advanced to the semi-finals of the tournament.

West Indies won the toss and decided to bat but lost five batsmen for only 52 runs on the board. They lost three more wickets for only 18 runs until Pooran decided to take charge and stem the haemorrhage.

Man-of-the-match Pooran shared a ninth-wicket stand of 136 with Jerome Jones to revive West Indies. Jones played sensible and ensured Pooran got as much strike as possible in their fightback.

West Indies were 206 runs when Jones ran out for 20 and two runs later Pooran’s good fortunes ended after he shuffled across to play at a delivery from Guy Walker which knocked his middle stump.

Pooran made 143 from 160 balls which included 14 fours and six sixes.

Walker was the best Australian bowler, also removing the destructive Tagenarine Chanderpaul (4) and Jonathan Drakes (0), finishing with three for 44. Ben Ashkenazi and Thomas Andrews took two wickets apiece.

Matthew Short (52) and Jason Morgan (55) gave the Australians a magnificent start with a partnership of 107 runs, halfway through their victory target. It was enough to cruise home with Ben McDermott (29) and Jake Doran unbeaten on 49 and with 20 balls to spare.

Ray Jordan took two for 34 and Bryan Charles two for 41, bowling for the West Indies.

Australia will join South Africa, England and Pakistan in the semi-finals while West Indies will play Afghanistan in one of the play-off matches on Tuesday.


Summary Scores:

West Indies Under-19 Innings: 208 All Out (49.5 Overs). Nicholas Pooran+ 143, Jerome Jones 20, Jeremy Solozano 10, Brandon King 7; Guy Walker 9.5-0-44-3, Ben Ashkenazi 10-0-37-2, Thomas Andrews 8-0-57-2, Billy Stanlake 8-1-16-1.

Australia Under-19 Innings: 209/5 (46.4 Overs). Jaron Morgan 55, Matthew Short 52, Jake Doran 49*, Ben McDermott 29; Ray Jordan 8.4-1-34-2, Bryan Charles 10-0-41-2, Jerome Jones 9-0-33-1, Gudakesh Moti-Kanhai 10-0-44-0.

Australia Under-19 won by 5 wickets


West Indies Under-19

S Hetmyer b Stanlake 1

T Chanderpaul c Gregory b Walker 4

J Solozano c Gregory b Bazley 10

J Drakes LBW Walker 0

N Pooran+ b Walker 143

B King c McDermott b Ashkenazi 7

R Lewis* b Ashkenazi 1

G Moti-Kanhai c Mortimer b Andrews 1

B Charles c & b Andrews 1

J Jones run out (McDermott/Walker) 20

R Jordan not out 0

Total: 208 All Out (49.5 Overs)

Extras: (lb 2, w 18) 20

Fall of Wickets: 1-5 (Hetmyer, 2.6 ov), 2-7 (Chanderpaul, 3.5 ov), 3-7 (Drakes, 3.6 ov), 4-32 (Solozano, 13.3 ov), 5-52 (King, 18.5 ov), 6-64 (Lewis, 22.3 ov), 7-66 (Moti-Kanhai, 24.4 ov), 8-70 (Charles, 26.3 ov), 9-206 (Jones, 49.1 ov), 10-208 (Pooran, 49.5 ov).

Australia Under-19 Bowling: B Stanlake 8-1-16-1, G Walker 9.5-0-44-3, M Short 2-0-10-0, J Bazley 10-1-35-1, B Ashkenazi 10-0-37-2, A Gregory 2-1-7-0, T Andrews 8-0-57-2.

Australia Under-19 (Target; 209)

M Short c & b Jordan 52

J Morgan c Solozano b Charles 55

D Mortimer st Pooran b Charles 12

J Doran not out 49

A Gregory* b Jordan 3

B McDermott+ c Motie-Kanhai b Jones 29

J Bazley not out 0

Total: 209/5 (46.4 Overs)

Extras: (lb 6, w 3) 9

Did not Bat: T Andrews, G Walker, B Ashkenazi, B Stanlake

Fall of Wickets: 1-107 (Morgan, 20.6 ov), 2-112 (Short, 21.5 ov), 3-144 (Mortimer, 32.4 ov), 4-151 (Gregory, 35.5 ov), 5-204 (McDermott, 45.5 ov)

West Indies Under-19 Bowling: J Jones 9-0-33-1, R Jordan 8.4-1-34-2, G Moti-Kanhai 10-0-44-0, R Lewis 9-0-51-0, B Charles 10-0-41-2.

Result: Australia Under-19 won by 5 wickets

Man of the Match: Nicholas Pooran (West Indies Under-19)

Toss: West Indies Under-19 won the toss and elected to bat

Umpires: E Haque (Bangladesh) & S Ravi (India)

TV Umpire: C Gaffaney (New Zealand)

Match Referee: C Broad (England)

Reserve Umpire: S George (South Africa)


Sun, 02/23/2014 - 04:17