Phyllis Carter Memorial T\20 cricket – Leguan…Zaman, Murray star with the ball as Satro, Young Warriors register wins

Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Mustapha Zaman and Brian Murray turned in commendable performances with the ball as Satro and Young Warriors registered victories when play in the Phyllis Carter Memorial T\20 cricket competition continued last Sunday in Leguan.

In the day’s first game at Enterprise, Zaman claimed 4-15 from 4 overs, while Imtiaz Khan captured 2-29 from 4 overs to restrict Western Pit Bulls for 136-9 in 20 overs batting first.

Godfrey Austin stroked an even half century and Gangaram Munilall supported with 36.

Satro responded with 137-9 in 17.3 overs. Naeem Habib led with 29 while Trevor Whyte made 21 and Zaman 17.

Dayanand Tribhowan snared 2-17 and Jerry Kowsilla 2-21 for Western Pit Bulls who lost the game by 1 wicket.

In the second game at the said venue Young Warriors defeated Rebels by 11 runs.

Young Warriors batted first and posted 122 all out in 19.1 overs with Brian Murray top scoring with 40 while Oudit (only name) chipped in with 20 and Tyrone Narine 17.

Bowling for Rebels was Brian Roopchand picked up 3 for 27 and Raymond Nandram 2 for 20.

Rebels were bowled out for 111 in 19.1 overs in reply. Amit Jagroop was their leading batsman with 24, Anil Jagroop made 19 and Toney Jagroop 14.

Murray returned to capture 4-28, Satnarine Jattan had 2-8 and Tulsieram Premnauth 2-24.

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Thu, 09/19/2013 - 04:27