Permaul, Cotterrell blow away Bangladesh-A

DHAKA, Bangladesh – Veerasammy Permaul and Sheldon Cotterrell shared eight wickets to bowl the Sagicor High Performance Centre team to a 53-run victory over Bangladesh-A in the second match of their One-day series on Sunday.

Left-arm spinner Permaul was the pick of the Sagicor HPC bowlers with 4-33 from 10 overs and left-arm fast bowler Cotterrell grabbed 4-40 from nine overs, as Bangladesh-A were bowled out for 181 in 43 overs at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium, despite a top score of 69 from Shahriar Nafees.

Cotterrell brought the match to a resounding close with 42 balls remaining, when he trapped Taskin Ahmed lbw for 10.

The result meant that the visitors took an unbeatable 2-0 lead in the three-match series, following an 11-run victory in the first match last Friday at the same venue.

The One-day series comes to a conclusion on Tuesday at the same venue before the two sides contest two Twenty20 matches.

Jahmar Hamilton had hit the top score of 49, Keddy Lesporis supported with 44, Yannic Cariah scored 36 and Permaul made 29, as the Sagicor HPC team posted 234 from 49.5 overs.

Cotterrell then gave the Caribbean side a bright start to their defence, when he removed Imrul Kayes for one in the first over of the chase, and followed up with the scalp of wicketkeeper/batsman Anamul Haque for three in the third over, leaving Bangladesh-A nine runs for two wickets.

But the Sagicor HPC team were put on the defensive, when A-Team captain Raqibul Hasan joined Shahriar and put on 58 for the third wicket before he and Shamsur Rahman fell off successive deliveries from Permaul for 27 and zero respectively.

The emerging West Indies players were again made to toil, when Naeem Islam, a thorn in their side in two previous matches, added 72 for the fifth wicket with Shahriar.

Yannic Cariah changed the course of the match, when he had Naeem caught behind for 34, triggering a collapse, which saw the A-Team crumble from 139 for five in the 30th over to 162 for nine in the 41st over.

Earlier, the Sagicor HPC again batted in fits and starts, as several batsmen got starts, but no one was able to top Hamilton, whose knock included two fours and three sixes from 50 balls.

The most stable period was when Keddy Lesporis partnered Kyle Hope for a stand of 54 for the third wicket before Naeem captured 3-47 from 10 overs, Enamul Haque Jr took 2-30 from 10 overs, and Nazmul Apu 2-40 from 10 overs, working their way through the visitors’ batting.



J. Blackwood lbw b Enamul Haque Jr 16

M. Barclay lbw b Delwar Hossain 15

K. Hope run out 18

K. Lesporis lbw b Nazmul Apu 44

Y. Cariah lbw b Nazmul Apu 36

*C. Brathwaite lbw b Naeem Islam 6

+J. Hamilton c Marshall Ayub b Naeem Islam 49

V. Permaul c Nazmul Apu b Enamul Haque Jr 29

S. Cotterrell run out 2

J. Warrican b Naeem Islam 3

M. Cummins not out 1

Extras (w15) 15

TOTAL (all out, 49.5 overs) 234

Fall of wickets: 1-36, 2-36, 3-90, 4-104, 5-120, 6-155, 7-203, 8-216, 9-226

Bowling: Delwar Hossain 7-0-30-1 (w2); Taskin Ahmed 7-0-58-0 (w5); Enamul Haque Jr 10-1-30-2; Naeem Islam 8.5-0-47-3 (w1); Nazmul Apu 10-0-40-2 (w3); Marshall Ayub 7-0-29-0

BANGLADESH-A (target: 235 off 50 overs)

Imrul Kayes c Blackwood b Cotterrell 1

+Anamul Haque c Cariah b Cotterrell 3

Shahriar Nafees c (sub) Fletcher b Cotterrell 69

*Raqibul Hasan lbw b Permaul 27

Shamsur Rahman b Permaul 0

Naeem Islam c wkpr Hamilton b Cariah 34

Marshall Ayub lbw b Permaul 13

Nazmul Apu not out 15

Delwar Hossain b Permaul 0

Enamul Haque Jr c Cotterrell b Warrican 0

Taskin Ahmed lbw b Cotterrell 10

Extras (lb4, w5) 9

TOTAL (all out, 43 overs) 181

Fall of wickets: 1-2, 2-9, 3-67, 4-67, 5-139, 6-145, 7-162, 8-162, 9-163

Bowling: Cotterrell 9-0-40-4 (w1); Cummins 4-0-20-0 (w1); Brathwaite 4-0-22-0; Permaul 10-1-33-4 (w1); Blackwood 3-1-16-0; Cariah 7-2-25-1; Warrican 6-0-21-1 (w2)

Result: Sagicor HPC won by 53 runs (42 balls remaining)

Series: Sagicor HPC lead three-match series 2-0

Toss: Sagicor HPC

Man-of-the-Match: V. Permaul (Sagicor HPC)

Umpires: Masudur Rahman Mukul, Tanvir Ahmed

Match referee: Samiur Rahman

Reserve umpire: Gazi Sohel


Sun, 09/30/2012 - 09:41