Permaul bowls Windies to lead

KINGSTOWN, St Vincent, CMC – Captain Veerasammy Permaul was brilliant with his left-arm spin to gain West Indies A Team a first innings lead on the second day of their second unofficial “Test” on Sunday.


The 22-year-old picked up five for 58 at Arnos Vale as India A, responding to the hosts’ 217 all out, were dismissed for 202. At the close, Windies A were six without loss, a lead of 21 runs head into Monday’s penultimate day.


India A wasted little time at the start of the day in wrapping up the Windies innings as the hosts added just five to their overnight 212 for eight before being dismissed.


Test opener Kraigg Brathwaite, unbeaten on 66, was bowled by seamer Shami Ahmed (4-48) without adding and Devendra Bishoo followed soon afterward, lbw for two.


India had a wretched start, plunging to 12 for two before captain Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane stitched up the innings with a 74-run, third wicket stand.

The right-handed Pujara stroked 67, facing 156 balls in 170 minutes, hitting six fours and a six while Ajinkya Rahane, also a right-hander, got 18.


Pujara, as he did in the first match in Barbados last week, played superbly and brought up his half-century with a six over long-on off leg-spinner Bishoo. Permaul then struck twice to bring West Indies A back into the game.


He had Rahane taken at slip by Delorn Johnson to claim his first wicket at 86 for three and with two runs added, induced a return catch off Rohit Sharma to send the batsman on his way for one.


Pujara and Manoj Tiwary then put on 27 for the fifth wicket before both fell in quick succession. Once again, it was Permaul who was in the forefront, having Pujara caught behind attempting to pull one that bounced.


Tiwary followed soon afterward, playing across a full length delivery from left-arm seamer Johnson (2-28).


Struggling at 123 for six, India were then boosted by two successive partnerships as Wriddhiman Saha (20) and Rahul Sharma (30) added 38 for the seventh wicket before Sharma and Shami Ahmed (20) put on a further 32 for the eighth wicket.


 WEST INDIES 1st innings

(overnight 212-8)

K Brathwaite b Ahmed 66

J Guillen c Tiwary b Ahmed 5

D Pagon b Rahul Sharma 11

N Bonner st Saha b Darekar 25

J Carter c Dhawan b Rohit Sharma 19

K Corbin c Rahane b Dinda 13

+D Thomas lbw b Rohit Sharma 5

J Holder c wkp Saha b Ahmed 20

*V Permaul b Dinda 36

D Johnson not out 3

D Bishoo lbw b Ahmed 2

Extras (b1, lb1, w1, nb9) 12

TOTAL (all out, 90 overs) 217

Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Guillen), 2-33 (Pagon), 3-71 (Bonner), 4-98 (Carter), 5-119 (Corbin), 6-130 (Thomas), 7-164 (Holder), 8-211 (Permaul), 9-213 (Brathwaite), 10-217 (Bishoo)

Bowling: Dinda 18-8-22-2, Ahmed 19-6-43-2, Darekar 20-4-59-1, Rahul 18-5-54-1, Rohit 14-4-31-2, Dhawan 1-0-1-0

INDIA 1st innings

A Mukund lbw b Holder 8

S Dhawan b Johnson 0

A Rahane c Johnson b Permaul 18

*C Pujara c wkp Thomas b Permaul 67

R Sharma c and b Permaul 1

M Tiwary lbw b Johnson 23

+W Saha c wkp Thomas b Bishoo 20

R Sharma c Bonner b Permaul 30

S Ahmed c Brathwaite b Carter 20

A Darekar not out 2

A Dinda b Permaul 1

Extras (b1, lb7, w3, nb1) 12

TOTAL (all out, 79.2 overs) 202

Bowling: Johnson 13-3-28-2, Holder 8-2-21-1, Permaul 31.2-14-58-5, Carter 6-1-27-1, Bishoo 21-3-60-1

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Dhawan), 2-12 (Mukund), 3-86 (Rahane), 4-88 (Rohit Sharma), 5-115 (Pujara), 6-123 (Piwary), 7-161 (Saha), 8-193 (Rahul Sharma), 9-201 (Ahmed), 10-202 (Dinda)

WEST INDIES 2nd innings

K Brathwaite not out 4

J Guillen not out 1

Extras (nb1) 1

TOTAL (without loss, 4 overs) 6

Bowling: Dinda 1-1-0-0, Ahmed 1-1-0-0, Darekar 1-0-5-0, Rohit Sharma 1-0-1-0.

Position: West Indies A lead by 21 runs.

Toss: West Indies.

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Joel Wilson

Third umpire: Goaland Greaves

Sun, 06/10/2012 - 15:30