New Zealand opt to bat, Blackwood debuts

Port of Spain, Trinidad - New Zealand won the toss in the 2nd Test and elected to bat first against the West Indies.

West Indies made a few changes to the team that lost the 1st Test with Kraigg Brathwaite coming in at the top of the order while Shannon Gabriel replaces Shane Shilingford. Jermaine Blackwood also makes his debut in Trinidad.

New Zealand made just one change to the team that won by 186 runs in Kingston with Hamish Rutherford coming in for Peter Fulton at the top of the order.

Toss: New Zealand won the toss and elected to bat

West Indies XI: Chris Gayle, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jermaine Blackwood, Denesh Ramdin*+, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn, Shannon Gabriel.

New Zealand XI: Hamish Rutherford, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum*, James Neesham, Bradley-John Watling+, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Mark Craig, Trent Boult.

Umpires: Ian Gould (England) & Rod Tucker (Australia)

3rd Umpire: Ray Illingworth (England)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (England)

Reserve Umpire: Peter Nero (T&T)

Live online text updates


2nd Test Preview: West Indies are likely to go with a three-pronged pace attack in the second Test against New Zealand which bowls off here Monday, as they seek to rebound from last week's heavy defeat and level the series... Read more

Mon, 06/16/2014 - 04:57