New bats star as Windies reach 253-5

Mirpur, Bangladesh - The newcomers at the top of the West Indies batting order played well on Saturday to propel the visitors to 253-5 on the opening day of the second Test match against Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla National cricket Stadium.

Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell and Kirk Edwards all hit half-centuries as West Indies held the edge, after West Indies captain Darren Sammy won his first toss on the tour and opted to bat.

Bangladesh restored some parity in the final session with off-spinner Nasir Hossain striking twice before Shakib Al Hasan bowled nightwatchman Kemar Roach for six.
Edwards kept the prospect of his second century in his third Test alive, staying 71 not out overnight alongside Marlon Samuels, who has hit four classy boundaries in his unbeaten 16.

Edwards helped build on a 100-run opening stand between Brathwaite, who made 50 - his maiden Test match half-century in just his fifth innings. The left-handed Powell also made his first Test 50 and has so far topscored with 72.

Bangladesh had to toil before they made their first breakthrough when Brathwaite edged pacer Rubel Hossain to Imrul Kayes at slip. The 18-year-old University student was patient and hit five fours of 102 balls.

Powell, who replaced injured Lendl Simmons for the match, was bowled by debutant left-arm spinner Suhrawadi Shuvo. He had looked solid until misjudging the line of the delivery that gave Shuvo his first Test wicket. Powell hit 10 boundaries and faced 150 balls.

Nasir Hossain trapped Darren Bravo (12) lbw for his first Test wicket before he had Shivnarine Chanderpaul caught by keeper Mushfiqur Rahim for 18.

West Indies 1st Innings
Kraigg Brathwaite c Imrul Kayes b Rubel Hossain 50 
Kieran Powell b Suhrawadi Shuvo 72 
Kirk Edwards not out 71 
Darren Bravo lbw b Nasir Hossain 12 
Shivnarine Chanderpaul c wk Mushfiqur b Nasir Hossain 18 
Kemar Roach b Shakib Al Hasan 6 
Marlon. Samuels not out 16               
Extras (b2, lb3, w2, nb1) 8 
TOTAL (5 wickets, 90 overs) 253 
To bat: Carlton Baugh, Darren Sammy, Fidel Edwards, Devendra Bishoo
Fall of wickets: 1-100, 2-155, 3-180, 4-226, 5-232 
Bowling (to date): Shahadat Hossain 16-1-76-0 (nb1); Rubel Hossain 16-1-50-1 (w2); Shakib Al Hasan 23-10-31-1; Nasir Hossain 17-4-31-2; Suhrawadi Shuvo 14-2-46-1; Naeem Islam 4-0-14-0
Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Shahriar Nafees, Raqibul Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Suhrawadi Shuvo
Toss: West Indies
Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Nige;. Llong
TV umpire: Nadir Shah
ICC Match referee: Andy Pycroft
Reserve umpire: Enamul Haque

Sat, 10/29/2011 - 05:15