Johnson pleased with Guyana preparation

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - With the national senior cricket team’s training camp set to conclude today with the final warm-up game, team manager Alvin Johnson declared that he is satisfied with the team’s preparation ahead of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) NAGICO Super50 tournament which is set to bowl off on January 30 in Trinidad and Tobago.

The manager said on Thursday during an exclusive interview with Guyana Times Sport that the players had prepared hard to face the coming challenges, adding that the team has had adequate preparation for the tournament.

“I don’t think the preparation could have been any better. This has been the best preparation for a long time; all the areas have been addressed so we don’t have any excuse to say that preparation was not adequate,” Johnson said.

He added “We have achieved most of the goals and objectives we set out regarding the overall readiness. What was most heartening was the commitment and dedication by the players”.

Camp concludes

Meanwhile, the training camp concludes today after the final day/night warm-up game at the Guyana National Stadium.

The Guyanese have been in intense training over the last month and a half and given the fact that the Guyana Cricket Board has employed the services of two GDF fitness trainers, Patrick King and Carl Stephenson, it is expected that Guyana should be among the fittest teams in the competition.

The tournament will feature hosts Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Barbados, Jamaica, the Windward Islands, the Leeward Islands, the Combined Campuses and Colleges and ICC affiliate side Ireland.

Guyana will open its quest for honours against Ireland in a Zone A match on January 31.

The other two teams in Zone A are Jamaica and defending champions the Windward Islands. The Guyanese will then play Jamaica on February 4, before taking on the defending champions on February 8.

Guyana’s 14-man squad reads: Robin Bacchus, Trevon Griffith, Leon Johnson, Shivnarine Chanderpaul (vice-captain), Narsingh Deonarine, Christopher Barnwell (captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Royston Crandon, Assad Fudadin, Anthony Bramble (w/k), Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton and Paul Wintz.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Fri, 01/24/2014 - 04:12