Johnson, McClean clean up India A

GROS ISLET, St Lucia, CMC – Pacers Delorn Johnson and Kevin McClean produced devastating spells to rock India A and put West Indies A in sight of victory in the third and final Digicel four-day “Test” on Monday.

Both bowlers picked up three wickets apiece as India A, trailing by 106 on first innings, reached 181 for seven at the close at the Beausejour Cricket Stadium. Left-armer Johnson has so far taken three for 43 while McClean has picked up three for 47. Manoj Tiwary has so far top-scored with 62 to prop up the innings while wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha was holding things together at the end with an unbeaten 48.

Earlier, West Indies were dismissed 20 minutes into the day’s play for 336 after resuming the day on 320 for eight, with off-spinner Jalaj Saxena (3-55) and seamer Parvinder Awana (3-81) leading India A’s attack.

Johnson then scythed through India A’s top-order to leave the visitors tottering at 30 for three at lunch. Left-handed Abhinav Mukund clobbered two fours and a six in 20 off 13 balls before nicking Johnson behind and his partner Ajinkya Rahane followed soon afterward for two in similar fashion. It was the fourth time in the series Johnson dismissed Mukund who ended with scores of 0,0,8,8, 10 and 20.

McClean then claimed the prized wicket of captain Cheteshwar Pujara for two, courtesy of a brilliant one-handed diving catch at gully by Kieran Powell, just before break at 28 for three in the sixth over of the innings.

After the break, India A slipped into more turmoil as Rohit Sharma’s poor form continued when he edged Johnson to Kyle Corbin at third slip, to fall for two at 35 for four.
Tiwary and Saha then rescued the innings with a brilliant fifth wicket stand, adding a precious 95 for the fifth wicket.

The right-handed Tiwary stroked 10 fours and a six in an innings lasting 119 balls and 154 minutes while Saha has so far faced 152 balls in three hours and 34 minutes at the crease, and hit six fours.

India A were rebuilding steadily when McClean returned to trap Tiwary in front at 130 for five and with just two runs added, Saxena was brilliantly taken one-handed by Devendra Bishoo at point off McClean.

Bishoo then produced another piece of superb cricket to bowl Akshay Darekar for 15 and leave Windies A in full control.

INDIA A 1st Innings 230
WEST INDIES A 1st Innings
(overnight 320 for eight)
K Brathwaite c wk Saha b Awana 15
K Powell c and b Ahmed 139
K Corbin st Saha b Darekar 26
N Bonner c Rahane b Saxena 23
J Carter lbw b Saxena 0
D Pagon c and b Saxena 30
+D Thomas c Tiwary b Ahmed 50
*V. Permaul c Tiwary b Awana 3
K. McClean c wk Saha b Awana 19
D Johnson c sub (Shikhar Dhawan) b Ahmed 4
D Bishoo not out 7
Extras (b1, lb12, nb7) 20
TOTAL (all out; 112 overs) 336
Fall of wickets: 1-37, 2-91, 3-142, 4-142, 5-209, 6-287, 7-294, 8-312, 9-320, 10-336.
Bowling: Ahmed 26-5-75-3, Awana 23-5-81-3, Darekar 21-8-63-1, Rohit Sharma 15-2-49-1, Saxena 27-8-55-3.
INDIA A 2nd Innings
A Mukund c wk Thomas b Johnson 20
A Rahane c wk Thomas b Johnson 2
RG Sharma c Corbin b Johnson 2
*C Pujara c Powell b McClean 5
M Tiwary lbw b McClean 62
+W Saha not out 48
J Saxena c Bishoo b McClean 2
A Darekar b Bishoo 15
S Ahmed not out 16
Extras (b3, lb3, w2, nb1) 9
TOTAL (7 wkts, 67 overs) 181
Fall of wickets: 1-22, 2-23, 3-28, 4-35, 5-130, 6-132, 7-155
Bowling: Johnson 21-7-43-3, McClean 16-6-47-3, Carter 12-8-11-0, Permaul 9-0-40-0, Bishoo 8-2-28-1, Bonner 1-0-6-0.
Position: India A lead by 75 runs with three wickets in tact.
Toss: West Indies A.
Umpires: Peter Nero, Nigel Duguid.

Mon, 06/18/2012 - 16:43