James to lead SVG in Windwards Tournament


KINGSTOWN, St Vincent - Ten players will form the core of the 13-member St Vincent and the Grenadines National Male Senior Cricket Teams for the Windward Islands Winlott Twenty20 and Two-Day tournaments.

The tournaments will be played in Grenada from December 4-16, 2013.

The ten are Lindon James – captain of both squads, Romel Currency - vice captain of both squads, Delorn Johnson, Miles Bascombe, Kenroy Peters, Darnley Grant, Donwell Hector, Alston Bobb, Rodney Lawrence and Sunil Ambris.

They will be joined by Asif Hooper, Cosmon Walter and Desron Maloney in the T20 squad, and Kenneth Dembar, Keron Cottoy and Atticus Browne in the two-day squad.

Hooper and Lawrence are the only newcomers in the squads.

Salvan Browne, Rolando Wright, Shaquille Browne and Mcleon Williams have been named as reserves.

The squad was finalised following deliberations by the selectors, comprised of Elvis Browne (Chairman), Lance John, Gosnel Cupid, Urius Tommy King, and captain Lindon James.

St Vincent and the Grenadines are the defending Winlott T20 Champions and placed third in last year’s two-day tournament.


Sun, 11/24/2013 - 17:14