Jamaica defeat Ireland by 6 wickets

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Jerome Taylor made his much anticipated return to the Jamaica team in emphatic fashion as Ireland were skittled out for 161 runs.

Ireland had a good but slow start the innings. The opening partnership of William Porterfield and Niall O'Brien put on 54 runs for the first wicket. Porterfield made 25 runs from 57 balls while Niall O'Brien hit 35 runs from 54 balls.

Alex Cusack also batted patiently, making 30 runs from 52 balls. No other batsman in the Ireland team went beyond 15 but for the top three batsmen. Both Jerome Taylor (3-34) and Andre Russell (3-19) were Jamaica's best bowlers. Tamar Lambert chipped in with 2-27.

Horace Miller started Jamaica's pursuit of 162 for victory in positive fashion, getting to 18 from from 23 balls. However, he didn't las long. It was instead, fellow opener, John Campbell that anchored the Jamaican chase.

He struck six fours and two sixes in an entertaining knock of 71 from the 80 balls he faced. Together with Tamar Lambert, both batsmen added 101 runs together to set Jamaica on course for victory. Lambert made 27 runs from 49 balls.

Both batsmen fell late in the innings but Andre Russell finished off the game with a mighty six over long-on. Jamaica won by 6 wickets, getting to 166/4 from 29 overs, winning with 21 overs to spare.

Match 5 of the NAGICO Super50 tournament sees Jamaica take on Ireland at the Queen's Park Oval in Port of Spain.

Guyana currently lead Zone A with five points while Jamaica are in second place on four points. Ireland need to win this game or they'll be virtually out of the competition.

Ireland won the toss and elected to bat first.

Jamaica made just one change to their team who beat the Windward Islands, with Jerome Taylor coming in for Sheldon Cottrell. Ireland also made one change from their last game which they lost against Guyana. Stuart Thompson comes in for John Mooney.

More to follow...

See below for all the latest details of the match:

Toss: Ireland won the toss and elected to bat first

Ireland XI: William Porterfield (captain), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Tim Murtagh, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Andrew Poynter, Max Sorensen, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson.

On The Bench: Craig Young, Paul Stirling, John Mooney; Phil Simmons (coach)

Jamaica XI: David Bernard Jr (captain), Nikita Miller (vice captain), Andre Russell, Carlton Baugh Jr (wicket-keeper), Tamar Lambert, Andrew Richardson, Horace Miller, John Campbell, Andre McCarthy, Jerome Taylor, Nkrumah Bonner.

On The Bench: Jermaine Blackwood, Sheldon Cottrell, Kenar Lewis; Junior Bennett (coach)


Summary Scores:

Ireland Innings: 161 All Out (46.1 Overs). Niall O'Brien 35, Alex Cusack 30, William Porterfield 25, Stuart Thompson 15; Andre Russell 8-0-19-3, Jerome Taylor 9.1-0-34-3, Tamar Lambert 10-0-27-2, Dave Bernard 6-0-27-1.

Jamaica Innings: 166/4 (29 Overs). John Campbell 71, Tamar Lambert 27, Nkrumah Bonner 22, Horace Miller 18; Max Sorensen 4-0-17-2, Tim Murtagh 6-0-26-1, Andrew McBrine 7-1-33-1, George Dockrell 6-0-35-0.


Umpires: Zahid Bassarath, Leslie Reifer

TV Umpire: Patrick Gustard

4th Official: Lyndon Rajkumar

Match Referee: Michael Ragoonath

Watch live on ESPN3 (Checking your local listings)

Listen to live ball-by-ball commentary (yourcss.net)

Follow on Twitter (@WindiesRegional) & Facebook (Windies Cricket)

Catch all the action in photos (Flickr) 


W Porterfield c Baugh b Bernard 25

Niall O'Brien LBW Lambert 35

A Cusack c McCarthy b Russell 30

G Wilson c Russell b Lambert 10

A Poynter c Baugh b Russell 0

Kevin O'Brien c McCarthy b Richardson 8

S Thompson c Bonner b Russell 15

M Sorensen c Campbell b Taylor 12

A McBrine b Taylor 7

T Murtagh LBW Taylor 6

G Dockrell not out 2

Total: 161 All Out (46.1 Overs)

Extras: (1NB, 9WD, 1LB) 11

Fall of Wickets: 1-54, 2-78, 3-100, 4-109, 5-110, 6-123, 7-146, 8-147, 9-156, 10-161.

Jamaica Bowling: A Richardson 8-0-32-1, J Taylor 9.1-0-34-3, D Bernard 6-0-27-1, T Lambert 10-0-27-2, N Miller 5-0-21-0, A Russell 8-0-19-3.

Jamaica (Target; 162)

Horace Miller LBW Murtagh 18

J Campbell b Sorensen 71

N Bonner c Wilson b Sorensen  22

T Lambert c Thompson b Sorensen 27 

A Russell not out 12

A McCarthy not out 1

Total: 166/4 (29 Overs)

Extras: (9WD, 6LB) 15

Did not Bat: D Bernard, N Miller, C Baugh+, A Richardson, J Taylor.

Fall of Wickets: 1-20, 2-52, 3-153, 4-153.

Ireland Bowling: T Murtagh 6-0-26-1, S Thompson 3-0-22-0, M Sorensen 4-0-17-2, A Cusack 2-0-14-0, G Dockrell 6-0-35-0, A McBrine 7-1-33-1, A Poynter 1-0-13-0.

Result: Jamaica won by 6 wickets

Man of the Match: Andre Russell

Umpires: Zahid Bassarath, Leslie Reifer

TV Umpire: Patrick Gustard

4th Official: Lyndon Rajkumar

Match Referee: Michael Ragoonath

Mon, 02/03/2014 - 08:46