ICC Events

Jayawardene powers Sri Lanka to 274

Mumbai, India – Mahela Jayawardene stroked a delightful unbeaten 103 on Saturday to take Sri Lanka to a challenging 274-6 in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 final against India.

Jayawardene, the only Sri Lankan to exceed 50, held the innings together with deft glides and pushes before cutting loose in the batting powerplay – when 63 runs came –  Sri Lanka’s highest of the tournament.

Sri Lanka bat first in grand final

Mumbai, India – Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat in the ICC World Cup 2011 final against India on Saturday.

Injured left-arm pace bowler Ashish Nehra was replaced by Shanthakumaran Sreesanth in the India team for what is one of the biggest matches in history at Wankhede Stadium.

Sri Lanka made four changes, selecting Thisara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara and Chamara Kapugedera in place of Angelo Mathews, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath and Chamara Silva.

India beat Pakistan to reach final

Mohali, India – India's cricketers kept alive the dreams of billion fans after beating Pakistan by 29 runs in their ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 semi-final on Wednesday to set up a grand final against Sri Lanka.

The home side made 260-9 and then returned to bowl out their neighbours for 231 in 49.5 overs to spark jubilant celebrations among the more than 28,000 fans at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium.

Sachin's 85 takes India to 260-9

Mohali, India – Sachin Tendulkar had luck on his side as he made 85 which powered India to 260-9 off their 50 overs against Pakistan in Wednesday’s ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 semi-final at a jam-packed Punjad Cricket Association Stadium.

Tendulkar was dropped by Misbah-ul-Haq, Younus Khan and Umar Akmal, while keeper Kamran Akmal also missed a half-chance. He was eventually caught at extra-cover by skipper Shahid Afridi off off-spinner Saeed Ajmal after facing 115 balls and striking 11 boundaries.

India bat first against Pakistan

Mohali, India – India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in their ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 semi-final on Wednesday.

Pakistan named an unchanged team from the line-up which beat West Indies in the quarter-finals in Dhaka, while India brought in fast bowler Ashish Nehra for off-spinner Ravichandran Aswhin, from the team which beat Australia in the quarter-finals in Ahmedabad.


Subscribe to ICC Events