Hard Drive claim Mayaro round robin windball title

Trinidad Express article.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - RBSL Hard Drive Sports Club are the new round robin champs of the bpTT Mayaro Windball Night Cricket League which launched its 2014 season at the Mayaro Government School Ground on Saturday.

In a fitting climax to a great evening of competitive cricket, RBSL Hard Drive, led by Dinesh Ragbar, dominated Rest House Warriors, scoring 38 in the three-over match and restricting their opponents to 24.

Captain Ragbar heaped praises on his San Fernando-based team. “Our team is focused and this victory is vindication of all our hard work and, as we’ve shown this season, we intend to dominate from the start. We play in leagues all over Trinidad and Tobago, from Rousillac to Tacarigua to Santa Cruz but the Mayaro league has a really special atmosphere. A lot of credit must go to bpTT and MGUOCC for making this one of the best cricket leagues in the country.”    

A total of 17 teams - male and female - participated in the launch, with Mayaro Police Youth Club repeating as Male march past champs with Bomb Squad taking the female marching crown, while also winning the female round robin competition by default.

Now in its 15th year, the Mayaro Windball Night Cricket league is sponsored by energy company BP Trinidad and Tobago and organised by the Mayaro/Guayaguayare Unemployment Organisation and Concerned Citizens (MGUOCC). 

Formally opening the 2014 season was Joel Primus, Community Sustainability and Stakeholder Relations Adviser, bpTT: “We remain committed to the development of Mayaro and its citizens, especially through the investment in human capacity development in areas like education, culture and sport. Mayaro night cricket is a perfect opportunity for communities to unite while showcasing sporting talent in a fun atmosphere.  The shared vision will be to focus on expanding this and other competitions so that they become nurturing grounds for future talent.”

A large crowd assembled to enjoy the evening’s entertainment, including the Member of Parliament for Mayaro and Minister of Community Development, Winston “Gypsy” Peters.

March Past Results

Male: Champions – Mayaro Police Youth Club; Runners-up – Mafekin Destroyers; Third – Rest House Warriors

Female: Champions – Bomb Squad; Runners-up – Neal & Massy Wood Group; Third – ZNS Construction Crew.

First Published In The Trinidad Express.

Fri, 04/18/2014 - 04:18