Hamilton’s defiance fails to save Sagicor HPC

DHAKA, Bangladesh – A defiant, unbeaten 47 from Jahmar Hamilton failed to inspire the Sagicor High Performance Centre team and Bangladesh-A claimed a 52-run victory in their tour match on Wednesday.

The Anguillan wicketkeeper/batsman struck three fours and two sixes from 69 balls in 101 minutes to lead the last charge to victory, but the Sagicor HPC team were dismissed for 186 in their second innings inside the first hour on the final day of the four-day match at the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium.

None of the visitors’ remaining batsmen reached 20 before left-arm spinner Saqlain Sajib completed the demolition, when he had Sheldon Cotterrell caught behind for a third-ball duck to finish with 5-61 from 22.4 overs.

The outcome meant that no team scored more than 200 in the match and ended the four-day programme on the tour for the Sagicor HPC.

The emerging West Indies players face the same opponents in three One-day matches, starting on Saturday at the same venue.

Starting the day on 120 for six, chasing 239 for victory, the Caribbean side suffered an early setback, when Yannic Cariah was caught close to the wicket of left-arm spinner Enamul Haque Jr.

Two overs later, Veerasammy Permaul fell for three to Enamul, who trapped Jomel Warrican lbw for five, finishing with 3-73 and match figures of 10-118 to make him a shoo-in for the Man-of-the-Match award.

The Sagicor HPC is on a month-long tour to Bangladesh. They opened the trip with a draw in a four-day match against the Bangladesh Cricket Board Academy at the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna.


BANGLADESH-A 1st Innings 199

(Mominul Haque 50; S. Cotterrell 4-15)


(A. Fletcher 51; Enamul Haque Jr 7-45)

BANGLADESH-A 2nd Innings 186

(Naeem Islam 60; V. Permaul 4-44)


(overnight 120 for six)

A. Fletcher c Raqibul Hasan b Saqlain Sajib 20

T. Griffith c Forhad Hossain b Shahadat Hossain 1

M. Barclay lbw b Naeem Islam 33

K. Hope b Saqlain Sajib 52

J. Blackwood lbw b Saqlain Sajib 1

Y. Cariah c Naeem Islam b Enamul Haque Jr 18

*C. Brathwaite c Imrul Kayes b Saqlain Sajib 0

+J. Hamilton not out 47

V. Permaul c Forhad Hossain b Enamul Haque Jr 3

J. Warrican lbw b Enamul Haque Jr 5

S. Cotterrell c wkpr Anamul Haque b Saqlain Sajib 0

Extras (b5, lb1) 6

TOTAL (all out, 57.4 overs) 186

Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-36, 3-101, 4-112, 5-113, 6-113, 7-159, 8-165, 9-185

Bowling: Nazmul Hossain 3-0-13-0; Shahadat Hossain 5-0-9-1; Saqlain Sajib 22.4-6-61-5; Enamul Haque Jr 19-0-73-3; Forhad Hossain 1-0-6-0; Naeem Islam 7-0-18-1

Result: Bangladesh-A won by 52 runs

Man-of-the-Match: Enamul Haque Jr (Bangladesh-A)

Umpires: Anisur Rahman, Nadir Shah

Match referee: Akhtar Ahmad Shipar

Reserve umpire: Gazi Sohel


Wed, 09/26/2012 - 06:45