Guyana defeat Windwards by 22 runs

Port of Spain, Trinidad - Guyana fought back to defeat the Windward Islands by 22 runs in Match 6 of the NAGICO Super50 and confirm their spot in the semi-finals of the competition.

The Windwards, chasing 236 for victory were well placed at 200/7 but Veerasammy Permaul forced a collapse with the last three wickets to give Guyana victory. Johnson Charles started the innings positively but he only reached 35.

Tyrone Theophile made 31 but Windward Islands kept losing wickets along the way that plugged them back. Both Ronsford Beaton and Permaul took three wickets each, with the former being awarded Man of the Match.

Christopher Barnwell helped Guyana recover from a slow start to post a competitive score of 235/7 from their 50 overs.

Guyana started slowly, taking over 30 overs to bring up their century. Ramnaresh Sarwan (62) and Assad Fudadin (51) patiently rebuilt the innings after Guyana lost Trevon Griffith early on.

The Windward Islands bowlers were quite tight for the best part of the innings. However, coming down to the end of the innings, they lost their way somewhat.

Barnwell blasted 51 runs from 43 balls, putting on 84 runs with Leon Johnson, who hit 41 runs from 31 balls.

In Match 6 of the NAGICO Super50 tournament, Guyana take on the Windward Islands in a crucial Zone A match.

Guyana won the toss and elected to bat first.

They suffered a big blow losing opening batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul to injury. Assad Fudadin comes in for Chanderpaul. The Windward Islands, however, remain unchanged from their first match, when they were defeated by Jamaica.

More to follow...

See below for all the latest details of the match:

Toss: Guyana won the toss and elected to bat

Guyana XI: Christopher Barnwell (captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Anthony Bramble (wicket-keeper), Trevon Griffith, Leon Johnson, Narsingh Deonarine, Assad Fudadin, Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Paul Wintz.

On The Bench: Royston Crandon, Shiv Chanderpaul (vice captain), Robin BacchusEsuan Crandon (coach)

Windward Islands XI: Liam Sebastien (captain), Andre Fletcher (vice captain), Johnson Charles (wicket-keeper), Tyron Theophille, Mervin Matthew, Garey Mathurin, Keddy Lesporis, Devon Smith, Delorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Romel Currency.

On The Bench: Alston Bobb, Craig Emmanuel, Dalton PoliusIan Allen (coach)


Summary Scores:

Guyana Innings: 235/7 (50 Overs). Ramnaresh Sarwan 62, Christopher 51, Assad Fudadin 51, Leon Johnson 41; Mervin Matthew 10-1-41-3, Delorn Johnson 10-0-39-2, Johnson Charles 7-1-39-1, Kenroy Peters 10-0-37-0.

Windward Islands Innings: 213 All Out (46.4 Overs). Johnson 35, Keddy Lesporis 33, Tyrone Theophile 31, Mervin Mathew 24; Veerasammy Permaul 9.4-2-24-3, Ronsford Beaton 9-1-43-3, Davendra Bishoo 10-0-42-2, Christopher Barnwell 6-0-31-1.


Umpires: Patrick Gustard, Gregory Brathwaite

TV Umpire: Danesh Ramdhanie

4th Official: Kellman Kowlessar

Match Referee: Rawle Richards

Watch live on ESPN3 (Checking your local listings)

Listen to live ball-by-ball commentary (

Follow on Twitter (@WindiesRegional) & Facebook (Windies Cricket)

Catch all the action in photos (Flickr)



T Griffith c Flethcer b Johnson 0

A Fudadin c Johnson b Matthew 51

R Sarwan c Sebastien b Matthew 62

C Barnwell* b Matthew 51

L Johnson c Currency b Charles 41

N Deonarine c Sebastien b Johnson 2

A Bramble c Lesporis b Matthew 6

V Permaul not out 1

Total: 235/7 (50 Overs)

Extras: (1NB, 14Wd, 4LB, 2B) 21

Did not Bat: R Beaton, D Bishoo, P Wintz

Fall of Wickets: 1-3, 2-124, 3-130, 4-214, 5-218, 6-234, 7-235.

Windward Islands Bowling: D Johnson 10-0-39-2, K Peters 10-0-37-0, M Matthew 10-1-41-3, J Charles 7-1-39-1, L Sebastien 9-1-50-0, G Mathurin 4-0-23-0.

Windward Islands (Target; 236)

D Smith b Beaton 5

J Charles b Barnwell 35

T Theophile LBW Bishoo 31

A Fletcher LBW Bishoo 17

K Lesporis LBW Wintz 33

R Currency b Beaton 19

L Sebastien LBW Permaul 19

M Mathew c Permaul b Beaton 24

G Mathurin c Bramble b Permaul 5

D Johnson b Permaul 0

K Peters not out 3

Total: 213 All Out (46.4 Overs)

Extras: (11WD, 11LB) 22

Fall of Wickets: 1-35, 2-55, 3-95, 4-96, 5-157, 6-158, 7-200, 8-206, 9-206, 10-213.

Guyana Bowling: P Wintz 5-0-29-1, R Beaton 9-1-43-3, C Barnwell 6-0-31-1, V Permaul 9.4-2-24-3, D Bishoo 10-0-42-2, N Deonarine 7-0-33-0.

Result: Guyana won by 22 runs

Man of the Match: Ronsford Beaton (Guyana)

Umpires: Patrick Gustard, Gregory Brathwaite

TV Umpire: Danesh Ramdhanie

4th Official: Kellman Kowlessar

Match Referee: Rawle Richards

Tue, 02/04/2014 - 09:04