Guyana break camp for Christmas

GEORGETOWN, GUYANA - The Veersammy Permaul-led Guyana cricket team preparing for the 2013 Caribbean T20 competition ended the first phase of preparations o n Saturday after breaking camp for the Christmas holidays.

C oach Esaun Crandon, who was with the team during the 15-day camp that began o n December 6, informed that emphasis was placed on physical conditioning and disclosed that he is satisfied with the team’s fitness level.

Th e touring squad and seven standby players were involved in the camp at the C hetram Singh Centre of Excellence, La Bonne Intention (LBI).

Crandon, who played 38 first class matches for Guyana, disclosed that in addition to fiv e practice matches at the Guyana National Stadium, the players were also inv olved in three gym sessions and sessions at the Colgrain Pool.

“I am pleased with the first phase of preparations and I can say that the fitn ess level of everyone improved from when we began. I hope that the guys will enjoy the break for Christmas but will be careful with what they eat and dr ink during the festive season. We will be testing their fitness level when t he second phase of the camp is held on December 27 to 31. The guys worked re ally hard and we hope that when they return they will continue to be fully focused on cricket and that their fitness level would not have dropped, Crandon said.

Crandon added, “I think this team is a lot more mentally fit and united while the presence of Shiv and Sars also made a pos itive input from their experience as a West Indies player. I would say every one is in high spirits and eager to get into action next month.”

Guyana will open their campaign against the Combined Campuses and Colleges ( CCC) on January 7 at the Queens Park Oval in Trinidad and Tobago, while thei r other matches in the preliminary round will be against Barbados (January 1 0), Trinidad and Tobago (January 12), Jamaica (January 15), Leeward Islands ( January 17), and the Windward Islands (January 18).

Meanwhile, TT will be chasing a hat-trick of Caribbean T20 titles, having won the tournament in 2 011 and 2012. Guyana won the inaugural tournament in 2010.

Guyana: Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Trevon Griffith, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Leon Johnso n, Narsingh Deonarine, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Christopher Barnwell (vice captain) , Royston Crandon, Steven Jacobs, Derwin Christian (WK), Jonathan Foo, Deven dra Bishoo, Ronsford Beaton, and Rajiv Ivan.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Wed, 12/26/2012 - 11:53