GTM U-19 Inter-County cricket tournament resumes today

Guyana Times article.

The Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)/Guyana and Trinidad Mutual Fire and Life Insurance Company-sponsored (GTM) Inter-19 Inter-County three-day day cricket competition resumes today from 10:00h with two matches.

The tournament, which commenced on April 23, was put on hold due to the persistent rains.

Two matches will be played simultaneously in each round and today’s first round is set for the Police ground where Essequibo will face Demerara while at the Everest Cricket Club ground the President’s XI will oppose Berbice.

The second round of the competition will be played from June 25-27 with Berbice playing Essequibo at the Demerara Cricket Club ground and Demerara taking on the President’s XI at the Everest Cricket Club ground. The final round of the competition, scheduled for June 29-July 1, will see Demerara playing Berbice at the DCC ground while the President’s XI will oppose Essequibo at the Wales Community Centre ground.

The competition is a yardstick for the junior selectors to pick the Guyana team for the West Indies Cricket Board’s (WICB) Regional Under-19 competition, scheduled for later this year. The competition, which began in 1976, has produced all but two of Guyana’s Test players, Clyde Butts and Neil McGarrell.

The competition, which will be contested on a round robin basis, is expected to be keenly contested.

President’s XI squad reads: Akshaya Persaud (Captain), Ryan Shun, Rajiv Balgobin, Asif Alehi, Danesh Mangal, Anthony Boohdeo, Martin Pestano-Bell, Yenkini Favourite, Arif Chand, Hakeem Hinds, Nial Smith, Devon George, and Akesh Jagroo. The coach is Adrian Amsterdam and the manager is David Black.

Demerara squad reads: Kamesh Yadram (Captain), Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Brian Sattaur, Chandrika Persaud, Deonarine Seegobin, Andrew Gibson, Kemol Savory, Steven Sankar, Devon Lord, Stephon Brown, Dexter George, Bernard Bailey, Kevin Paul and Shivram Persaud. The coach is Quason Nedd and the manager is Robert ‘Pacer’ Adonis.

GT&T Berbice squad reads: Shawn Perreira (Captain), Nick Ramsaroop, Devin Baldeo, Parmanand Narine, Sharaz Ramcharran, Ashkay Homraj (wkp), Kevon Jawahir, Derek Narine, David Latchaya, Shailendra Shameer, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Suresh Dhanai, and Romario Shepherd-DeJonge.

Essequibo squad reads: Ricardo Adams (Captain), Ricardo Peters, Mark Gonsalves, Herry Greene, Mohamed Hassan, Rajiv Balgobin, Mahendra Balbadar, Avinash Persaud, Andy Dass, Kesho Rooplall, Dexter Williams, Placid Edwards, Raj Parbattie and Shivindra Hemraj. Forbes Daniels will execute the duties of coach, with the manager being Nazeer Mohamed.

First Published By The Guyana Times.

Thu, 06/20/2013 - 19:30