GSCL 12\12 tourney…Gittens slams half century as Regal XI made light work of Trophy Stall

Kaieteur News article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Chien Gittens stroked a fine half century as Regal XI defeated Trophy Stall by 8 wickets when the Georgetown Softball Cricket League (GSCL) 12\12 tournament commenced yesterday at Everest Cricket Club.

Gittens reached the boundary on three occasions and cleared it seven times in a top score of 69 and got valuable support from fellow opener Richard Latiff 31 (1×4,2×6) as Regal XI successfully chased 125, ending on 128-2 in 10.3 overs. Fazal Rafeek took both of the wickets to fall.

Earlier,  Martin Dutchin top scored with an even half century which contained two fours and six sixes to lead Trophy Stall batting, while Shailendra Ramnauth contributed 23 (3×4) and Surajpaul Deosarran 21 (2×6). Mohamed Ayube claimed 3-23 for the winners.

Wolf’s Warriors overcame Romain XI in another encounter on pitch number two. Romain XI took first strike and managed 102-8 in 12 overs. Mark Babb led with 46 (2×4, 2×6) and Samuel Kingston made 15; Reaz Karim captured 2-3.

Karim and Amrit Rai then blasted Wolf’s Warriors to victory with an unbroken opening stand of 106 in 5.4 overs. Karim smashed ten sixes in a top score of 68, while Rai, who played the supporting role, made 31 (1×4,4×6).

Regal XI got the better of Farm XI by 17 runs. Regal XI posted 125-7 in 12 overs, batting first. Patrick Rooplall was their leading batsman with 40 (3×4,3×6) while Lakeram Roopnarine supported with 34 (3×4,3×6) and Chien Gittens 20 (2×4,1×6).

Imran Hamid took 2-17 and Sheldon Perch 2-24. Farm XI were restricted to 109-8 in 12 overs in reply. Aftab Bacchus 34 (5×6), Lennox Marks 31 (4×6) and Rajesh Reddy 23 (3×4) were the batsmen that showed fight. Balram Roopnarine claimed 3-12 and Ricky Sargeant 2-15.

Wolf’s Warriors beat Invaders by 5 wickets. Invaders made 106 all out in 11 overs, batting first with Vikash Dhaniram scoring 28 and Arvin Seepersaud 24; Diaram Persaud picked up 3-18 and Albert Gill 3-20.

Wolf’s Warriors replied with 107-5 in 11.4 overs. George Gill led the chase with 39 while Safraz Karim made 27 and Amrit Rai 19.

Trophy Stall turned back the challenge of Farm XI, winning the game by 64 runs. Trophy Stall posted 139-7 in 12 overs after taking first turn at the crease. Delroy Perreira top scored with 48 not out, Martin Dutchin chipped in with 38 and Fazal Rafiek 21.

Patrick Khan was their leading wicket taker with 3-25. Farm XI could only muster 75-7 in 12 overs in reply. Aftaab Bacchus 30 and Rajesh Reddy 13 were the only batsmen that offered any resistance as Fazal Rafiek snared 2-14.

Invaders got pass Romain XI by 16 runs. Avinash Dhaniram 38 (3×6), Ganesh Narine 29 (2×4,2×6) and  Vikash Dhaniram 26 (3×6) ensured Invaders who batted first reached a respectable 123-6 in 12 overs.

Mahendra Chunilall grabbed 3-17 for Romain XI who responded with 107-9 in 12 overs. Anand Rooplall scored 50 (7×6) and Khalid Haslim made 22; Arvin Seepersaud captured 2-6 and Abaas Zaman took 2-26.

The competition continues today.

First Published By Kaieteur News.

Sun, 09/15/2013 - 05:07