Garner tells Gavron winners to be ambassadors and role models

Barbados Cricket Association article.

Bridgetown, Barbados - Winners of the annual Lord Gavron award for the last two years have been told by Barbados Cricket Association president Joel Garner to see themselves as "ambassadors and role models".

Garner was speaking during a presentation ceremony at Kensington Oval last weekend, marking the 12th anniversary of the prestigious award.

The 2011 awardees were Anthony Alleyne and Kyle Mayers, while Shai Hope and Craig St.Hill were the 2012 winners. 

They bring to 18, the number of winners since the award was first introduced in 2001.

Hope was unable to attend because he was in Dominica with the Barbados team for the regional first-class semi-final match against the Windward Islands, which Barbados won by an innings and 101 runs in just under a day-and-a-half to sweep into the final against Trinidad & Tobago at Kensington Oval, starting on Thursday, May 9.

"Your journey has just begun and to make that journey good and pleasant you must work hard and take full advantage of the opportunities presented to you by Lord Gavron and others," Garner said.

"You must see yourselves as ambassadors as well as role models so other young cricketers and people would want to emulate you.

"This is just part of the beginning of your journey, a journey which should be enjoyable. If you are going to play the sport and you are going to have fun, there is no sense in just playing the game and not enjoying the things that go with it."

Garner, a former Barbados captain and outstanding West Indies fast bowler and now a director of the West Indies Cricket Board, also told the awardees that training and preparation were key ingredients in their quest for success.

"I don't think I have to say a lot about being disciplined. When it comes to training and preparation, I think that if you spend a little time preparing yourself, 75 percent of the job is done in preparation and 25 (percent) is only execution.

"Be an ambassador because you are not only representing yourself but also 270 000 people when you are at Barbados level and about six million people whenever you go to the higher level, at West Indies level.

"Irrespective of whatever you might achieve, all you have to do is remain humble," Garner said. 

Three of the winners - Alleyne, Hope and St. Hill - were educated at Queen's College, while Mayers is a product of Alexandra and the Barbados Community College.

Alleyne and Mayers were both members of the West Indies Under-19 team at the last ICC World Cup in Australia last year.

Alleyne is a left-hand batsman, who made his first-class debut for Combined Campuses & Colleges (CCC) this year, while Mayers, also a left-hand batsman who bowls right-arm medium-pace has played in the regional Super50 championship for both CCC and Barbados. He is yet a play a first-class match.

Hope and St. Hill were members of the champion Barbados team in the 2012 regional three-day tournament in Barbados. Hope was the captain.

Hope, who made his first-class debut this year, is a batsman and wicket-keeper, while St. Hill is a batsman, who captained Guardian General Barbados Youth in the 2012 BCA Elite championship. 

Locally, Alleyne now plays for Sagicor Life UWI, Mayers is with TeleBarbados Carlton, while Hope and St. Hill both represent ESA Field Pickwick.

The Lord Gavron award is given to a Barbados Under-19 cricketer, who has been outstanding on the field of play, has displayed the correct attitude and shown progress in his technical and tactical awareness.

It reached a total contribution of $1 million a couple years ago.

Winners are presented with cash, a computer, cricket gear, a trophy and an attachment to a cricket club in an international playing country. If the cricket attachment does not materialise, winners are given an opportunity to study at a local institution. 

The winners in order from the inception are:

2001 - Ryan Nurse (fast bowler).

2002 - Jason Smith (off-spinner).

2003 - Martin Nurse (batsman).

2004 - Renaldo Parris (batsman, off-spin bowler).

2005 - Javon Searles (fast bowling all-rounder).

2006 – Kemar Roach (fast bowler).

2007 – Shamarh Brooks (batsman, leg-spinner) and Rashidi Boucher (batsman).

2008 – Kyle Corbin (batsman/wicket-keeper) and Kraigg Brathwaite (batsman).

2009 – Jason Holder (fast medium bowler, batsman) and Jomel Warrican (spin bowler).

2010 - Roston Chase (batsman, off-spin bowler) and Shane Dowrich (wicket-keeper/batsman).

2011 - Anthony Alleyne (batsman) and Kyle Mayers (batsman, medium-fast bowler)

2012 - Shai Hope (batsman/wicket-keeper) and Craig St. Hill (batsman).

Roach, 24, has been the most prominent of the winners, having now represented West Indies in 23 Tests, 51 One-Day Internationals and 11 Twenty20 Internationals.

The 21-year-old Holder has also had a taste of international cricket with two ODIs. 

All of the others, apart from Smith, Parris and St. Hill, have played either in regional first-class or limited overs matches.

First Published On

Fri, 05/10/2013 - 04:44