Foundation A wins Joel Garner Trophy

Bridgetown, Barbados - Left-arm fast bowler Michael Holder snatched five for 17 to spur Foundation A Old Scholars to their first title by way of a nine-run win over Alleyne Alumni in the fifth annual Christ Church Foundation School Joel Garner Twenty20 tapeball tournament at Church Hill on Friday night.

In an intriguing final which kept a large crowd engrossed well after midnight, Holder, a Barbados trials invitee who plays in the major BCA competitions for St. Catherine, displayed tremendous accuracy in bowling four of his victims with the other being leg before wicket.

It was a refreshing exhibition by the Foundation A bowlers. And to underline their determination to be as accurate as possible, nine of the Alleyne batsmen were bowled in a most telling statistic.

Chasing 109 to win, Alleyne were looking solid after reaching 50 for two at the end of the 11th over.

But Man-of-the-Match Holder, who initially came on as first change in the sixth over and removed Marty Griffith for 11 with his fifth ball, was brought back for a second spell in the 12th over and promptly prised out left-hander Jason Gilkes for seven.

In the following over, skipper Michael Matthews took care of his opposite number Kenrick Marshall for six off the last delivery to leave the score 62 for four.

Holder struck again in the last ball of the following over, trapping Trevon Murray leg before wicket for what turned out to be the topscore of 18.

Left-handers Adrian Maynard and Shawn Boyce then gave Alleyne hope by adding 16 in 2.5 overs before the last five wickets tumbled for 16 runs in three overs as Matthews skilfully changed his bowlers.

Eighteen runs were required off the last two overs with three wickets in hand. Pacer Jade Padmore, a Pickwick club-mate of Matthews, conceded just three runs in the penultimate over while sending back Jamel Noel and then urged on by his alma mater supporters, Holder duly delivered.

Earlier, Matthews topscored with 31 which included two sixes and two fours at No. 6 after he won the toss. Opener Ricardo Yearwood contributed 21 and Dwight Carter, 13.

Left-arm medium pacer Maynard took three for 15 and fast bowler Callitos Lopez, three for 21.

It was the second time that Alleyne, who were without their key player Jonathan Carter because of preparations with the Barbados team for their current first-class match against the Windward Islands at Kensington Oval, had contested the final and lost. Two years ago, fellow northern side Coleridge & Parry Old Scholars triumphed by four wickets off the very last ball.

Carter’s Barbados team-mate Ashley Nurse, who is also playing against the Windwards, however, played for last year’s champions Deighton Griffith Old Scholars and helped them to take the third place with a 24-run win over the 2010 winners Norman/Roy Marshall Brothers Lodge Road.

Nurse, who was later named the Most Valuable Player of the 16-team tournament, made 28 not out with four sixes and former national batsman Martin Nurse scored 35 in a total of 118 for five off 14 overs.

Lodge Road were dismissed for 94 in 13.4 overs.

Summarised scores:


Deighton Griffith Old Scholars beat Norman/Roy Marshall Brothers Lodge Road by 24 runs.

Deighton Griffith 118-5 (14 overs) (Martin Nurse 35, Ashley Nurse 28 not out, Kareem Yarde 17, Adam Browne 11).

Lodge Road 94 all out (13.4 overs) (Shanaldo Taylor 20, Steve Pinder 20, Gregory Downes 15, Demel Lorde 11; Seth Holder 3-22, Jeremy Brathwaite 2-12).

Umpires: Rodney Barrow, Lawson Cummins.

Scorers: Shakira Adams and Shanique Adams



Foundation A Old Scholars beat Alleyne Alumni by nine runs.

Foundation A Old Scholars 108-9 (20 overs) (Michael Matthews 31, Ricardo Yearwood 21, Dwight Carter 13; Adrian Maynard 3-15, Callitos Lopez 3-21, Jamou Carrington 2-21).

Alleyne Alumni 99 all out (19.5 overs) (Trevon Murray 18, Marty Griffith 11, Adrian Maynard 10, Shawn Boyce 10; Michael Holder 5-17, Jade Padmore 2-18).

Man-of-the-Match: Michael Holder.

Toss: Foundation A Old Scholars.

Umpires: Jonathan Blades, Earl Collymore.

Scorers: Shakira Adams and Shanique Adams



+R. Arthur run out 9

R. Yearwood b Carrington 21

S. Browne c & b Carrington 5

A. Holder c Murray b Lopez 2

D. Carter c Doughlin b Lopez 13

*M. Matthews c Carrington b Maynard 31

J. Yarde b Lopez 0

J. Padmore b Maynard 4

D. Farley b Maynard 0

M. Holder not out 3

Extras (b3, lb4, w12, nb1) 20

TOTAL (9 wks, 20 overs) 108

Fall of wickets: 1-16 (Arthur, 3.1 ov), 2-40 (Yearwood, 7.2), 3-45 (Holder, 8.3), 4-48 (Browne, 10.3), 5-72 (Carter, 12.5), 6-72 (Yarde, 16.3), 7-89 (Padmore, 17.2), 8-89 (Farley, 17.3), 9-107 (Matthews, 19.5). 

Did not bat: C. Clarke-Reifer.

Bowling: Griffith 3-1-8-0, Noel 3-0-19-0, Lopez 4-0-21-3, Maynard 4-0-15-3, Carrington 2-0-21-2, Marshall 3-0-16-0.


T. Murray lbw b Holder 18

J. Doughlin b Padmore 0

M. Griffith b Holder 11

J. Gilkes b Holder 7

A. Maynard b Clarke-Reifer 10

S. Boyce b Holder 10

C. Lopez b Farley 0

*K. Marshall b Matthews 6

J. Noel b Padmore 3

K. Catlyn b Holder 1

J. Carrington not out 1

Extras (b3, lb3, w22, nb4) 32

TOTAL (all out, 19.5 overs) 99

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Doughlin, 0.5 ov), 2-24 (Griffith, 5.5), 3-50 (Gilkes, 11.1), 4-62 (Marshall, 13), 5-67 (Murray, 14), 6-83 (Maynard, 16.5), 7-84 (Lopez, 17.1), 8-94 (Noel, 18.5), 9-96 (Boyce, 19.3), 10-99 (Catlin, 19.5).

Bowling: Padmore 4-0-18-2, Farley 4-0-20-1, Holder 3.5-0-17-5, Matthews 4-0-15-1, Clarke-Reifer 4-0-33-1.

Man-of-the-Match: Michael Holder.

Toss: Foundation A Old Scholars.

Umpires: Jonathan Blades, Earl Collymore.

Scorers: Shakira Adams and Shanique Adams



Batsman with most runs (donated by Foundation Old Scholars Association) – Shanaldo Taylor (Lodge Road) 142.

Bowler with most wickets (donated by Foundation Old Scholars Association) – Adrian Maynard (Alleyne Alumni) 14.

Man-of-the-Match in semi-finals (donated by Rubis)

Semi-final 1 – Jonathan Carter (Alleyne Alumni)

Semi-final 2 - Chad Clarke-Reifer (Foundation A Old Scholars

Man-of-the-Match in final (donated by Honourable Stephen Lashley MP and representative for the area) – Michael Holder (Foundation A Old Scholars)

Most Valuable Player (donated by National Sports Council) Ashley Nurse (Deighton Griffith Old Scholars) 11 wickets, 92 runs, plus a fine exhibition as a wicket-keeper.

First Published On

Mon, 03/25/2013 - 04:31