Fireworks expected at Albion today

The Guyana Times article.

GEORGETOWN, GUYANA - Cricket fans are expected to fill the Albion Sports Complex today where intense battles are promised in the second Guyana independence T20 Cup.

The tournament, which forms part of celebrations to mark Guyana’s 47th independence anniversary, is a joint fund-raising venture by the Berbice Cricket Board and the Berbice Chambers of Commerce and Development Association.

The four teams that will be battling for supremacy are Universal DVD Berbice Titans, Karibee Rice Tigers, BK International East Coast Jaguars and Georgetown Lions.

National captain Veersammy Permaul will lead the Berbice Titans, while Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets first division captain Shawn Pereira will lead the Karibee Rice Tigers.

The Georgetown-based team will be led by national middle-order batsman Leon Johnson, while all-rounder Zaheer Mohamed will lead the East Coast-based team.

The first game between Universal DVD Berbice Titans and Karibee Rice Tigers will commence at 10:00 hours, followed by the BK International East Coast Jaguars versus Georgetown Lions clash from 13:30 hours. The winners will meet in the final under lights from 18:30 hours.

The proceeds from the event will go towards assisting with the development of sports in the region as two first division clubs are earmarked for allocations.

In addition, contributions will be made to two orphanages and two schools in Berbice and the rehabilitation of the pavillion at Albion Sports Complex, while the remainder will go towards the social obligations and community work plans for the two organisations under the Power to Change Programme.

Admission to the venue is $500 for adults. Gates will be opened at 09:00 hours and tickets will be sold only at the venue. Below are the four teams.

Universal DVD Berbice Titans: Veerasammy Permaul (captain), Richard Ramdeen, Shimron Hetmeyer, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Assad Fudadin, Narsingh Deonarine, Gajanand Singh, Jonathan Foo, Rajiv Ivan, Delbert Hicks, Devindra Bishoo, Eon Hooper, Keon Joseph, Yogendra Harrinarine and Clinton Pestano.

Karibee Rice Tigers: Shawn Perriera (captain), Romario Dejonge-Shepherd, Arthley Bailey, Joemal LaFleur, Stephen Latcha, Keith Fraser, Kevin Ramdeen, Renrick Batson, Jason Sinclair, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai, Raun Johnson, Michael Newland, Keon DeJesus, Dineshwari Prashad and Dominic Rikhi.

Georgetown Lions: Leon Johnson (captain), Trevon Griffith, Andrew Lyght Jr, Robin Bacchus, Shaquille Williams, Christopher Barnwell, Troy Gonsalves, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Chien Gittens, Paul Wintz, Terrence Forde, Seon Daniels, Jason Heyliger, Keon Morris and Derwin Christian.

BK International East Coast Jaguars: Zaheer Mohamed (captain), Rajendra Chandrika,  Brian Sattaur, Krishna Deosarran (vice-captain)  Somnauth Bharrat, Vishnu Ramjit, Christopher Pattadin, Clive Andries, Surujpaul Deosarran, Emran Khan, Videsh Lall Rohit Dutchin, Ryan Musa and  Anthony Ifill.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Sat, 05/25/2013 - 17:25