Exclusive Media Release to the CCN on Caribbean Singlewicket Cricket Tournament 2014

Caribbean Singlewicket Media Release.

Port of Spain, Trinidad - The Caribbean Singlewicket Cricket Tournament is proposed for Jun 18th and 19th 2014. 

Dwayne Smith the man who inspired the barbados win of the Nagico super Fifty is set to defend his singlewicket title which he captured in the 2013 tournament last Ocober. 

The promoters Glory Entertainment Television yesterday confirmed that UWI SPEC is the venue for this novel fast-paced competition featuring the world’s leading allrounders.

The rebirth of singlewicket cricket competition started when Glory TV staged an exhibition tournament  in 2009 in  Tobago. Twelve cricketers representing five islands were pitched in head-to-head contests from which Lendl Simmons emerged the winner. 

Other West Indies standouts featured in the tournament included Ricardo Powell, Dwayne Bravo and Samuel Badree. The first annual single wicket cricket tournament was played on UWI Cricket ground on October 13th last year with six Caribbean territories represented. 

It attracted several of the Caribbean’s leading allrounders with Dwayne Smith of Barbados triumphing over Christopher Barnwell of Guyana in the high tension final.

In June, the Organising Committee aims to put on a two day spectacle encompassing scintillating cricket and a delighful entertainment mix.The Tournament will involve 27 short matches with each allrounder batting and bowling two overs at his opponent aided by neutral fieldsmen.

Last year fifteen games were played in one day.

Caribbean Singlewicket Media Release.

Wed, 02/19/2014 - 16:07