Chanderpaul out as Guyana bowl

Gros Islet, St Lucia – Guyana will be without experienced batsman Shiv Chanderpaul for Saturday night’s all-important Caribbean T20 Play-off against Jamaica at Beausejour Cricket Ground.

The Guyanese won the toss and decided to field first and Chanderpaul was ruled out with a left hamstring injury. His place was taken by Trevon Griffth, the rookie left-handed opener.

Jamaica are at full strength and named an unchanged side from the one which beat CCC on Friday afternoon.

The winner of the Play-off will book a spot to face two-time defending champions Trinidad & Tobago in Sunday’s Grand Final at the same venue.



Guyana: Veerasammy Permaul (Captain), Christopher Barnwell (Vice Captain), Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Derwin Christian, Royston Crandon, Narsingh Deonarine, Trevon Griffith, Steven Jacobs, Leon Johnson, Ramnaresh Sarwan; 12th man: Rajiv Ivan

Jamaica: Tamar Lambert (Captain), David Bernard Jr. (Vice Captain) Nkrumah Bonner, Sheldon Cotterell, Yannick Elliott, Chris Gayle, Danza Hyatt, Nikita Miller, Andre Russell, Krishmar Santokie, Aldane Thomas; 12th man: John Campbell

Umpires: Peter Nero, Joel Wilson

Sat, 01/19/2013 - 16:15