Bowlers deliver big win for Windies

KINGSTOWN, St Vincent, CMC – West Indies A needed just an hour and eight minutes on the final day to steamroll India A’s high-touted batting line-up and record a massive victory in the second Digicel four-day ‘Test’ on Tuesday.

The hosts claimed the last six wickets for 37 runs as India A, resuming the day on 57 for four in pursuit of 220 for victory, were bundled out for a paltry 94 runs to give the home side an impressive victory by 125 runs on an action-packed morning at Arnos Vale.

Left-arm fast bowler Delorn Johnson, who bowled with great pace and bounce, took two wickets in the morning to end with a career-best six for 34 off 17 overs. Left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul took four for 22 – all four wickets coming on the final morning, as the experienced Indians looked at sea.

Permaul, who took five for 58 in the first innings ended with nine wickets in the match. He also made a vital 36 at number nine in the West Indies first innings to earn the Man-of-the-Match award.

Johnson, playing on his home ground with family cheering him on, ended with eight wickets in the match, following his first innings burst of two for 28.

“It feels really good to get this win. We played well and when you play well you deserve some success,” said Permaul.  “India have a ‘big’ batting line-up with guys who are well known in the IPL, but we knew once we worked hard and played good cricket over the four days we could beat them.

The captain added: “This is a good comeback after the way we lost in Barbados. We felt we should have won there. After that defeat we were a bit down. But we came back here and got it right.  This pitch favours spin, so I backed myself to do well. It was great to see the way Johnno (Johnson) bowled. He gave everything. He never stopped running in.”

Permaul started the day from the Caribbean Sea End at the south and gave the West Indies the perfect start when he bowled Rohit Sharma for 13 in the day’s third over with a ball that crept.  Two balls later he flummoxed Wriddhiman Saha with a clever arm-ball and won an lbw verdict to send the batsman on his way without scoring.

Shortly thereafter, Johnson produced a superb out-swinger from around the wicket which Rahul Sharma (3) edged to the wicket-keeper Deveon Thomas.  Johnson them used the short ball against Shami Ahmed to good effect. The tail-ender required treatment for a blow on the left hand and later was struck on the body by another quick lifter.

Johnson then produced another bouncer which Ahmed (2) fended from his face to give Thomas his fifth catch of the match. With the Indians retreating, the end was not far away and it came with little drama. Permaul took the final wicket when Akshay Dareka missed a wild swipe at a flighted delivery and was bowled for eight.

The two teams travel to St Lucia for the third and final unofficial Test at Beausejour Cricket Ground, which starts on Saturday.

West Indies 1st innings
Kraigg Brathwaite b Ahmed 66 (297 balls, 366 minutes, 7x4)
Justin Guillen c Tiwary b Ahmed 5 (15 balls, 28 mins 1x4)
Donovan Pagon b Rahul Sharma 11 (34 balls, 41 mins, 2x4)
Nkrumah Bonner st Saha b Darekar 25 (47 balls, 49, 4x4)
Jonathan Carter c Dhawan b Rohit Sharma 19 (42 balls, 45 mins, 4x4)
Kyle Corbin c Rahane b Dinda 13 (38 balls, 36 mins, 0x4)
Devon Thomas lbw b Rohit Sharma 5 (31 balls, 27 mins, 1x4)
Jason Holder c wk Saha b Ahmed 20 (34 balls, 30 mins, 1x6, 1x4)
Veerasammy Permaul b Dinda 36 (40 balls, 36 mins, 1x6, 5x4)
Delorn Johnson not out 3 (5 balls, 14 mins)
Devendra Bishoo lbw b Ahmed 2 (5 balls, 6 mins)
Extras (b1, lb1, w1, nb9) 12
TOTAL (all out, 90 overs) 217
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Guillen), 2-33 (Pagon), 3-71 (Bonner), 4-98 (Carter), 5-119 (Corbin), 6-130 (Thomas), 7-164 (Holder), 8-211 (Permaul), 9-213 (Brathwaite), 10-217 (Bishoo)
Bowling Dinda 18-8-22-2, Ahmed 19-6-43-2, Darekar 20-4-59-1, Rahul 18-5-54-1, Rohit 14-4-31-2, Dhawan 1-0-1-0
India 1st innings
Abhinav Mukund lbw b Holder 8 (16 balls, 18 mins 1x4)
Shikhar Dhawan b Johnson 0 (2 balls, 4 mins)
Ajinkya Rahane c Johnson b Permaul 18 (16 balls, 18 mins 1x4)
Cheteshwar Pujara c wk Thomas b Permaul 67 (170 balls, 156 mins 5x4, 1x6)
Rohit Sharma c and b Permaul 1 (11 balls, 9 mins)
Manoj Tiwary lbw b Johnson 23 (45 balls, 60 mins 1x4, 1x6)
Wriddhiman Saha c wk Thomas b Bishoo 20 (42 balls, 66 mins 4x4)
Rahul Sharma c Bonner b Permaul 30 (70 balls, 68 mins 4x4)
Shami Ahmed c Brathwaite b Carter 20 (32 balls, 33 mins 1x4, 2x6)
Akshay Darekar not out 2 (4 balls, 6 mins)
Ashok Dinda b Permaul 1 (2 balls, 2 mins)
Extras (b1, lb7, w3, nb1)
TOTAL (all out) 202
Bowling: Johnson 13-3-28-2, Holder 8-2-21-1, Permaul 31.2-14-58-5, Carter 6-1-27-1, Bishoo 21-3-60-1
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Dhawan), 2-12 (Mukund), 3-86 (Rahane), 4-88 (Rohit Sharma), 5-115 (Pujara), 6-123 (Tiwary), 7-161 (Saha), 8-193 (Rahul Sharma), 9-201 (Ahmed), 10-202 (Dinda)
West Indies 2nd innings
Brathwaite c Rohit Sharma b Darekar 21 (125 balls, 157 mins 3x4)
Guillen c Mukund b Ahmed 6 (19 balls, 34 mins)
Corbin c wk Saha b Darekar 16 (28 balls, 53 mins 1x4)
Bonner lbw b Darekar 5 (28 balls, 34 mins)
Carter c Mukund b Dinda 74 (97 balls, 103 mins 6x4)
Thomas lbw b Darekar 0 (8 balls, 6 mins)
Pagon c wk Saha b Darekar 67 (72 balls, 122 mins 4x4, 4x6)
Holder c Darekar b Rohit 0 (5 balls, 4 mins)
Permaul c Rohit b Darekar 2 (5 balls, 9 mins)
Johnson not out 5 (30 balls, 46 mins)
Bishoo c wk Saha b Rohit 0 (6 balls, 4 mins)
Extras (b2, lb3, nb3) 8
TOTAL (all out) 204
Bowling: Dinda 13-1-22-1, Ahmed 9-3-29-1, Darekar 24-9-67-6, Rohit Sharma 16.3-1-47-2, Rahul Sharma 8-3-25-0, Tiwary 1-0-9-0
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Guillen), 2-36 (Corbin), 3-48 (Bonner), 4-73 (Brathwaite), 5-81 (Thomas), 6-167 (Carter), 7-168 (Holder), 8-172 (Permaul), 9-203 (Pagon), 10-204 (Bishoo)
India A 2nd innings
A Mukund lbw b Johnson 8 (18 balls, 32 mins)
A Rahane b Johnson 5 (11 balls, 12 mins 1x4)
S Dhawan b Johnson 8 (8 balls, 13 mins 1x4)
C Pujara c wk Thomas b Johnson 1 (9 balls, 11 mins)
Rohit Sharma b Permaul out 13 (45 balls, 62 mins 2x4)
M Tiwary c Carter b Permaul out 20 (62 balls, 97 mins)
W Saha lbw b Permaul 0 (3 balls, 2 mins)
Rahul Sharma c wk Thomas b Johnson 3 (11 balls, 18 mins)
Shami Ahmed c wk Thomas b Johnson 2 (15 balls, 22 mins)
A Darekar b Permaul 8 (20 balls, 31 mins, 1x4)
A Dinda not out 12 (16 balls, 20 mins, 1x4)
Extras (b5, w7, nb2) 14
TOTAL (all out) 94
Bowling: Johnson 17-4-34-6, Holder 7-2-28-0, Bishoo 3-1-5-0, Permaul 9.4-2-22-4
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Rahane), 2-28 (Dhawan), 3-29 (Mukund), 4-30 (Pujara), 5-63 (Rohit Sharma), 6-63 (Saha), 7-68 (Rahul Sharma), 8-70 (Tiwary), 9-72 (Shami Ahmed), 10-94 (Darekar)

Result: West Indies A won by 124 runs at 11.08 am on the fourth and final day
Series: 1-1 with 1 match left at Beausejour, St Lucia
Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Joel Wilson
Third umpire: Goaland Greaves
Toss: West Indies

Tue, 06/12/2012 - 08:15