Bernard expects young bats to come big

WICB Media Release.

PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad – Captain David Bernard is expecting Jamaica to bring their ‘A’ game when they face the defending champions Windward Islands in the opening match of the NAGICO Super50 Tournament on Thursday.

First ball in the day/night encounter at Queen’s Park Oval is 2pm (1pm Jamaica Time).

The tall 32-year-old allrounder took over the leadership after Chris Gayle was forced to withdraw from the side with an injury. Bernard said he welcomed this opportunity to lead his national team and spoke of the team’s eagerness to do Jamaica proud.

“I expect the entire team to do well. We are here to represent Jamaica and we have a responsibility to do well for our country and our people,” Bernard said ahead of Wednesday’s training session. “This is the tournament when these young players should step up and make a name for themselves.”

With Gayle and Marlon Samuels not in the side, the skipper now is the time for “big things” from the bats of the young brigade.

“We have Horace Miller, Andre McCarthy, John Campbell, Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood…and the other young players to come through. They have shown tremendous potential and I’m really looking forward with excitement to see them perform,” Bernard said.

Bonner, who turned 25 last week, made the only century for Jamaica last year – a polished 110. He is expected to be the key batsman at the top of the order. Blackwood and the left-handed Campbell are graduates of the Sagicor High Performance Centre, while Miller and McCarthy are former West Indies Under-19 players.

Bernard also said it was pleasing to have experienced fast bowling allrounder Jerome Taylor back in the squad.

“It is good to see him back after some years. We all know his potential and what impact he can have and we look forward to seeing him bowl well and get back to the top of his game. They are exciting talents and this is the chance to cement themselves in West Indies cricket.”

Taylor is expected to share the new ball with left-arm pacer Sheldon Cottrell, who made his Test debut late last year. The attack is well balanced with Andre Russell, the livewire allrounder; Bernard himself with his clever changes of pace; and the misery left-arm spin of Nikita Miller, providing support.

The captain said though he had been entrusted with the leadership role, he knew there was experience in the side to call upon.

“This is an honour for me to captain Jamaica and I am delighted to be given this opportunity,” said Bernard. “In this team we have long-standing captain Tamar Lambert, Nikita Miller is my vice captain and we also have Carlton Baugh behind the stumps so we have a good relationship and we will come together to make the best decisions.”

The NAGICO Super50 will be played in Trinidad and Tobago from January 30 to February 16. Matches will be at the historic Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain and the picturesque Shaw Park in Tobago.

The champions will take home the Clive Lloyd Trophy – named in honour of the legendary captain of the 1975 and 1979 World Cup winning teams.


COMBINED CAMPUSES & COLLEGES: Steven Jacobs (captain), Anthony Alleyne, Ryan Austin, Kyle Corbin, Akeem Dewar, Kavem Hodge, Kyle Mayers, Kristopher Ramsaran, Wayne Morgan, Shacaya Thomas, Raymon Reifer, Chadwick Walton (wicket-keeper), Kesrick Williams, Floyd Reifer (player/coach)

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Adrian Barath, Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Jason Mohammed, Denesh Ramdin (wicket-keeper), Rayad Emrit, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Imran Khan, Yannick Ottley, Shannon Gabriel, Kevon Cooper; Kelvin Williams (coach)

IRELAND: William Porterfield (captain), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, John Mooney, Tim Murtagh, Andrew McBrine, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Andrew Poynter, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young; Phil Simmons (coach).

JAMAICA: David Bernard Jr (captain), Nikita Miller (vice captain), Andre Russell, Carlton Baugh Jr (wicket-keeper), Tamar Lambert, Andrew Richardson, Horace Miller, John Campbell, Jermaine Blackwood, Andre McCarthy, Sheldon Cottrell, Jerome Taylor, Nkrumah Bonner, Kenar Lewis; Junior Bennett (coach)

WINDWARD ISLANDS: Liam Sebastien (captain), Andre Fletcher (vice captain), Johnson Charles (wicket-keeper), Tyron Theophille, Mervin Matthew, Craig Emmanuel, Garey Mathurin, Keddy Lesporis, Devon Smith, Dalton Polius, Delorn Johnson, Kenroy Peters, Romel Currency, Alston Bobb; Ian Allen (coach)

GUYANA: Christopher Barnwell (captain), Shiv Chanderpaul (vice captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Anthony Bramble (wicket-keeper), Robin Bacchus, Trevon Griffith, Leon Johnson, Narsingh Deonarine, Royston Crandon, Assad Fudadin, Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Ronsford Beaton, Paul Wintz; Esuan Crandon (coach)

BARBADOS: Kevin Stoute (captain), Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Rashidi Boucher, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Shane Dowrich (wicket-keeper), Fidel Edwards, Kirk Edwards, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Dwayne Smith, Kenroy Williams; Hendy Springer (coach)

LEEWARD ISLANDS: Kieran Powell (captain), Devon Thomas (vice captain/wicket-keeper), Justin Athanaze, Lionel Baker, Quinton Boatswain, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jahmar Hamilton, Montcin Hodge, Sylvester Joseph, Anthony Martin, Mali Richards, Gavin Tonge, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kelbert Walters; Ridley Jacobs (coach)



Thursday, 30th: Windwards vs Jamaica at Queen’s Park Oval

Friday, 31st: Guyana vs Ireland at Queen’s Park Oval


Saturday, 1st: Leewards vs CCC at Queen’s Park Oval

Sunday, 2nd: T&T vs Barbados at Queen’s Park Oval

Monday, 3rd: Jamaica vs Ireland at Queen’s Park Oval

Tuesday, 4th: Guyana vs Windwards at Queen’s Park Oval

Wednesday, 5th: Leewards vs T&T at Shaw Park

Thursday, 6th: CCC vs Barbados at Shaw Park

Friday, 7th: Ireland vs Windwards at Queen’s Park Oval

Saturday, 8th: Guyana vs Jamaica at Queen’s Park Oval

Sunday, 9th: CCC vs T&T at Queen’s Park Oval

Monday, 10th: Barbados vs Leewards at Queen’s Park Oval

Wednesday, 12th: Semi-final 1 – Zone A winner vs Zone B second at Queen’s Park Oval

Thursday, 13th: Semi-final 2 – Zone B winner vs Zone A second at Queen’s Park Oval

Saturday 15th: FINAL – Winner of Semi-final 1 vs Winner of Semi-final 2 at Queen’s Park Oval

WICB Media Release.

Wed, 01/29/2014 - 15:07