BCB/UNIVERSAL DVD T20 - West Berbice savouring chances against weakened Albion in first semi-final … Bishoo not available for tomorrow’s fixture

Guyana Chronicle article.

Georgetown, Guyana - The first semi-final of this year’s Berbice Cricket Board-organised, Universal DVD Club-sponsored first division T20 competition, bowls off tomorrow at 13:30hrs at the Albion Community Centre ground, where the home team will face a confident-looking West Berbice lineup.

Albion topped Group A, while their opponents for tomorrow’s fixture ended as runners-up of Group B and after being mostly at the losing end in their battles with Albion over the years, West Berbice will savour their chances tomorrow against a below-strength opponent.

With their two senior West Indies cricketers - Narsingh Deonarine and Veerasammy Permaul - in India and Gudakesh Motie currently doing duty with West Indies against Bangladesh, Albion have now lost the services of former Test leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo who will also be unavailable due to personal business overseas.

Their severely weakened spin attack will be spearheaded by off-spinner Andre Percival, a former national cricketer, as well as off-spinner Veerapen Permaul, Sharaz Ramcharran, David Latchaya and leg-spinner Avinash Wajib.

Their batting will be spearheaded by former West Indies batsman Sewnarine Chattergoon, who is also a reliable leg-spinner in his own right, former Guyana T20 batting star Jonathan Foo, former Guyana Under-19 batsman, Kandasammy Surujnarine, current Guyana wicketkeeper-batsman Anthony Bramble, Ramcharran and Percival.

West Berbice will be coming with a strong pace-bowling attack against Albion whose batsmen are never free-flowing against quick bowlers.

Leading the attack will be national fast bowler Keon Joseph, former West Indies pacer Brandon Bess who has been doing well in recent matches and seems determined to make a comeback, and former Guyana Under-19 pacer Raun Johnson.

Wrendell Bobb and Keith Fraser, along with off-spinner Krisendat Ramoo, are the most difficult bowlers to score off in Berbice, backed by another off-spinner in Andrew Dutchin.

In the batting department, Fraser has been their most consistent batsman lately and West Berbice will hope that former Berbice batsman Arthley Bailey, Dutchin, Rafael Estriado, Ramoo and Sherwin McPherson, come good against the all-spin attack of Albion tomorrow.

The squads for the match read: Albion Community Centre - Sewnarine Chattergoon (captain), Kandasammy Surujnarine, Jonathan Foo, Anthony Bramble (wicketkeeper), Andre Percival, Sharaz Ramcharran, David Latchaya, Balchand Baldeo, Veerapen Permaul, Avinash Wajib, Satesh Dwarka, Adrian Sukhwah, Shivnarine Shirkissoon and Narendra Permaul, with the manager being Muthuswammi Permaul

West Berbice - Krisendat Ramoo (captain), Keon Joseph, Wrendell Bobb, Brandon Bess, Raun Johnson, Andrew Dutchin, Keith Fraser, Rafael Estriado, Arthley Bailey, Quacy McPherson, (wicketkeeper), Sherwin McPherson, Christopher Bissoon, Grisean Grant and Rajbance Hemraj, with David Black executing the duties of manager.

The umpires nominated are Zaheer Moakan and Joseph Simon, with the other semifinal between Group B winners Memorex Bermine and Group A runners-up Rose Hall Town Gizmos and Gadgets, scheduled for this Sunday at Port Mourant.

First Published In The Guyana Chronicle.

Thu, 10/10/2013 - 19:15