Bates sets up easy White Ferns victory

New Zealand Cricket article.

Mt Maunganui, New Zealand - The White Ferns have continued their dominance against the West Indies Women, posting an eight wicket win in the fourth Twenty20 International at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui.

The victory gives the White Ferns an unassailable 3-0 lead in the series, with the final Twenty20 to be played tomorrow at the same venue. 

Having won the toss and opted to bat first, the West Indies reached 99 for seven in their 20 overs, with Shemaine Campbelle (29) their top-scorer. In response, captain Suzie Bates (50) and Sara McGlashan (32*) put on 75 for the second wicket to lead their side to victory after 16.3 overs.

The West Indies were tracking nicely at 21 for one in the fifth over, until Morna Nielsen struck twice in as many balls to halt their momentum. 

Opener Kycia Knight (28) and Campbelle fought back for the visitors though, combining for a 43 run stand for the fourth wicket. Unfortunately the pair couldn’t capitalise at the end of the innings though, with the White Ferns finishing strongly with the ball. 

The wickets were shared amongst the Kiwi bowlers, with Nielsen and Bates leading with two wickets apiece.   

A run-out in the second over put the White Ferns on the back foot early on in their pursuit, but the experienced pair of Bates and McGlashan quickly swung the momentum back in the White Ferns favour. 

Bates brought up her half-century off 48 balls, but the very next delivery was caught in the deep with the White Ferns still 23 short of victory. It proved not to be a problem though, with McGlashan and Sophie Devine (15*) reaching the target with ease. 

Bates's effort with both bat and ball saw her named Player of the Match.


Summary Scores:

West Indies Women Innings: 99/7 (20 Overs). Shemaine Campbelle 29, Kycia Knight 28, Merissa Aguilleira*+ 16, Shaquana Quintyne 9; Morna Nielsen 4-1-8-2, Suzie Bates 3-0-12-2, Frances Mackay 4-0-24-1, Nicola Browne 3-0-18-1.

New Zealand Women Innings: Suzie Bates* 50, Sara McGlashan 32*, Sophie Devine 15*, Sam Curtis 0; Anisa Mohammed 4-0-9-1, Shanel Daley 3-1-6-0, Shakera Selman 3-0-20-0, Tremayne Smartt 2-0-16-0.

New Zealand White Ferns won by 8 wickets


West Indies Women

Kycia Knight c McGlashan b Mackay 28

S Daley run out (McGlashan/Nielsen) 4

S Quintyne LBW Nielsen 9

Kyshona Knight LBW Nielsen 0

S Campbelle c Green b Browne 29

M Aguilleira*+ c McGlashan b Bates 16

S King b Bates 4

C Henry not out 3

A Mohammed not out 3

Total: 99/7 (20 Overs)

Extras: (B 1, Lb 2, Wd 0, Nb 0) 3

Did not Bat: T Smartt, S Selman

Fall of Wickets: 1-10 (S Daley, 2.3), 2-21 (S Quintyne, 4.3), 3-21 (Kyshona Knight, 4.4), 4-66 (S Campbelle, 13.4), 5-86 (Kycia Knight, 17.1), 6-93 (S King, 18.4), 7-94 (M Aguilleira, 18.6)

New Zealand Women Bowling: M Nielsen 4-1-8-2, S Devine 3-0-19-0, H Huddleston 3-0-15-0, F Mackay 4-0-24-1, N Browne 3-0-18-1, S Bates 3-0-12-2.

New Zealand Women (Target; 100)

S Bates* c Kycia Knight b Mohammed 50

S Curtis run out (Quintyne/Aguilleira) 0

S McGlashan not out 32

S Devine not out 15

Total: 103/2 (16.2 Overs)

Extras: (B 0, Lb 3, Wd 0, Nb 3) 6

Did not Bat: K Perkins, R Priest+, N Browne, M Green, F Mackay, M Nielsen, H Huddleston

Fall of Wickets: 1-2 (S Curtis, 1.2), 2-77 (S Bates, 13.4)

West Indies Women Bowling: S Daley 3-1-6-0, T Smartt 2-0-16-0, S Quintyne 3.3-0-40-0, S Selman 3-0-20-0, A Mohammed 4-0-9-1, S Campbelle 1-0-9-0.

Result: New Zealand White Ferns won by 8 wickets

Toss: West Indies Women won the toss and elected to bat

Series: New Zealand White Ferns 3-0 West Indies Women

12th Men: H Jensen (New Zealand Women), N McLean (West Indies Women)

Umpires: A Mehrotra & B Frost

Scorers: T Andersson & D Plummer

First Published By New Zealand Cricket.

Fri, 03/07/2014 - 17:53