Aussies leave out pacer Ryan Harris

Melbourne, Australia - Australia have left out pacer Ryan Harris from the One-Day International squad for the upcoming Digicel Series in the West Indies to allow young quick James Pattinson to continue his development after recovering from a foot injury.

Harris was replaced by 21-year-old Pattinson for the remainder of Australia’s home ODI Tri-series against India and Sri Lanka after being outshone by the likes of fellow Test bowler Ben Hilfenhaus and ageing paceman Brett Lee.

“James Pattison is back in for two reasons, because he’s such a fine bowler, an outstanding bowler, and he’s also a young man and we're looking to develop him,” Head of Selectors John Inverarity told reporters at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Wednesday.

“We’ve preferred James Pattinson in place of Ryan, so Ryan’s been dropped from the squad. And we’re going to the West Indies basically with the same four fast bowlers in the last ODI and the final, so there’s consistency there.”

The 32-year-old Harris, who missed two of Australia’s four Tests in the series whitewash against India, is likely to be retained in the Test squad.

Pattinson joins Lee and Clint McKay, who has taken 10 wickets in five ODIs in the Tri-series, in the pace attack for both the One-Day and T20 squads, with Hilfenhaus named only for the One-Dayers.

Mitchell Starc took just five wickets in five ODIs in the Tri-series and was omitted but the 22-year-old will train with the squad in the Caribbean, Inverarity said.
Brad Haddin returns to the squad after being dropped for the Tri-series but has already been informed that Matt Wade will be first choice wicketkeeper in limited overs internationals.

“I think they’re both looking forward to it and we’re looking forward to it,” Inverarity said. “Rivals, (with) friendly rivalry, push each other to greater heights.”
Haddin remains the incumbent Test wicketkeeper, however, and Wade would need to pull off an “extraordinary” performance to dislodge the 34-year-old, Inverarity added.

Twenty20 skipper George Bailey, who has not played One-Day or Test cricket for his country, has also been included in the one-day squad having enjoyed a rich vein of form in the Ryobi Cup, the domestic One-Day competition.

“He’s probably in the form of his life. So, post him being in the T20 side, whatever’s happened there seems to have been a real boost to his confidence but he’s playing exceptionally well at the moment and very much deserves his opportunity in that side,” said Inverarity.

Match schedule:
ODI Series
Friday, 16 March – 1st ODI at Arnos Vale Cricket Ground, St Vincent
Sunday, 18 March – 2nd ODI at Arnos Vale Cricket Ground, St Vincent
Tuesday, 20 March – 3rd ODI at Arnos Vale Cricket Ground, St Vincent
Friday, 23 March – 4th ODI at Beausejour Cricket Ground, St Lucia
Sunday, 25 March – 5th ODI at Beausejour Cricket Ground, St Lucia
T20 Series
Tuesday, 27 March – 1st T20 at Beausejour Cricket Ground, St Lucia
Friday, 30 March – 2nd T20 at Kensington Oval, Barbados

One-Day International Squad
Michael Clarke – Captain   NSW 30
Shane Watson – Vice-captain   NSW 30
George Bailey TAS 29
Dan Christian SA 28
Xavier Doherty TAS 29
Peter Forrest QLD 26
Brad Haddin NSW 34
Ben Hilfenhaus TAS 28
David Hussey VIC 34
Michael Hussey WA 36
Brett Lee NSW 35
Nathan Lyon SA 24
Clint McKay VIC 29
James Pattinson VIC 21
Matthew Wade  VIC 24
David Warner NSW 25

T20 International Squad
George Bailey – Captain   Stars 29
Shane Watson – Vice-captain   Sixers 30
Dan Christian Heat 28
Xavier Doherty Hurricanes 29
Peter Forrest Heat 26
David Hussey Stars 34
Michael Hussey Scorchers 36
Brett Lee Sixers 35
Nathan Lyon Strikers 24
Clint McKay Stars 29
James Pattinson Stars 21
Matthew Wade Stars 24
David Warner Thunder 25

Wed, 02/29/2012 - 07:47